Spicy Jalapeño Cornbread {ModBak}

Although I have for the most part been baking the Modern Baker Challenge quick breads in order, I did a little jumping around this weekend. First, I had some fresh blueberries that I got at the market and wanted to use while they were still fresh, so I baked blueberry crumb muffins for breakfast this morning. Then, although I was planning on making the next recipe — apple raisin bread – this afternoon, I decided I really wanted cornbread for dinner tonight. And since I only had two eggs left in the fridge, the apple raisin bread would have to wait.

Check out my nifty new cookbook stand. I decided that I would try to keep The Modern Baker in better shape than The Bread Baker’s Apprentice during the Challenge. My wife saw the stand and thought it would make a nice holder for her iPad, but I convinced her otherwise, so it found its way to the kitchen and will hopefully help me keep TMB in good shape.

I decided to bake the spicy jalapeño cornbread in four mini loaf pans instead of one large loaf. My daughter prepared the pans by buttering them then lining the bottoms with parchment paper.

When my eyes begin to fail me and my fingernails turn blue....

The spicy jalapeño cornbread recipe calls for four jalapeños, but I decided to use three, as I didn’t want it to be too spicy for my family to enjoy. I started by chopping the scallions, then I put on rubber gloves and split, seeded, and chopped the jalapeños. The recipe calls for a stick of melted butter, so I melted it in the sauté pan, poured it into a bowl, and used the same pan to soften the scallions and jalapeños without the need for additional oil.

I mixed the dry ingredients — cornmeal, flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and, in my case, buttermilk powder – in a bowl and set it aside. In another bowl, I beat the eggs, then added water (in place of the milk), and whisked in the butter, cilantro, and the sautéed chilis and scallions. Finally, I folded in the dry ingredients.

The batter fit perfectly into the mini loaf pans, which went into the oven next to the chicken breasts we were cooking for dinner. The oven was set at 350° for the chicken, so I figured I would watch the loaves rather than trying to time them. As it was, they took about 25 minutes to bake.

We served the cornbread fresh out of the oven for dinner. I needn’t have worried about it being too hot. It had a lot of flavor from the cilantro, scallions, and jalapeños, but it wasn’t overly spicy.

This was another great recipe from a great book. So far, I haven’t been disappointed with any of the recipes I’ve tried. And this is another one I will definitely make again.

15 Comments

  1. ap269 said,

    April 23, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    I made it and it’s great! http://wp.me/pv1QP-Cf

  2. April 23, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    [...] pretty sure I would never ever make cornbread again. But then I read Anne Marie’s post and Phyl’s post about the Spicy Jalapeño Cornbread from “The Modern Baker” by Nick Malgieri, and since [...]

  3. Rebecca said,

    April 20, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    oh wow great bread

  4. April 20, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    The cornbread looks amazing. I love the idea of scallions and jalapeno together. I agree that corn kernels would be a great addition as well. The sweetness of thje corn would be a perfect counterbalance to the hot peppers. I am still staring at my NM book and have not baked from it yet. I have 5 more BBA breads to go, maybe then I’ll try some stuff. Glad to have you paving the way and testing the recipes for me!!

    • gaaarp said,

      April 20, 2010 at 4:51 pm

      The quick breads are easy, come together really fast, and taste amazing. Well worth the 10 minutes or so it will take to mix one of them up.

  5. Kayte said,

    April 19, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    These turned out very nicely in your pan. Love the colors in this bread, the yellows and greens and whites…very nice. That sounds like a lot of butter to me, but I guess if you say it worked, I will definitely stick to the proportions. One of the things I did not like about the BBA Cornbread was that it was so greasy, too much bacon grease that it just left a really bad taste in my mouth, didn’t care for that at all. Eager to try these…how many peppers should I use…decisions, decisions.

    • gaaarp said,

      April 19, 2010 at 9:34 pm

      I didn’t use the bacon grease for the BBA cornbread, as I don’t eat pork. I remember it being a bit on the greasy side. This cornbread was not at all greasy, even with all that butter.

  6. AnneMarie said,

    April 19, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    The entire time I was making this, the little bacon, bacon, bacon man was hopping up and down in my head.

    Really like the little pans

  7. Jolly said,

    April 19, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    Jalapeno Peppers—Just watch out during the summer, that’s when the jalapeno peppers get hot. During the winter they’re pretty mild. But during the long hot summer days basking in the hot sun the peppers get supper hot. You might want to cut back to one pepper for the recipe during the summer. Unless you like them hot.

    When I made up the recipe I roasted the Jalapeno peppers in the George Foreman griller. Split the peppers in half and lay them in the hot griller, until their roasted and partially charred. You might want to try this the next time around and don’t bother to peel the skin off. That’s where you attain the wonderful smokey flavor in the cornbread. I also grilled my onions in the same manner.

    This recipe is a winner

    • gaaarp said,

      April 19, 2010 at 1:13 pm

      Good idea about roasting the peppers. Of course, then I’d have to call it Chipotle Cornbread. ;-)

      You can never really tell how hot a jalapeno is going to be, so I took NM’s advice and tasted each of my peppers. One was quite mild, but the other two had a good bit of kick to them. Which is why I was surprised that the finished product didn’t come out all that spicy.

  8. petra said,

    April 19, 2010 at 9:55 am

    lovely clay baker! I am very much looking forward to baking this bread.

  9. ap269 said,

    April 19, 2010 at 2:55 am

    I did not like the BBA cornbread at all, but I will make this one to see how it tastes. I LOVE the mini loaf pans!!!!

    • gaaarp said,

      April 19, 2010 at 6:24 am

      Thanks, Andrea. Someone gave me the mini loaf pans. They are from Pampered Chef. As you can probably tell from the picture, they are stoneware. I haven’t baked with them much, but I am going to use them for some of the Modern Baker Challenge breads.

  10. sallybr said,

    April 18, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    Nice! So, how does it compare to BBA? I love the idea of making it in mini=loaf pans, and also the fact they were not too hot

    I haven’t had a chance to browse through my book yet, such a busy weekend, but I’ll get there

    • gaaarp said,

      April 18, 2010 at 9:40 pm

      I thought this was better than the BBA cornbread. I liked PR’s version, but this was more flavorful. I could see adding corn kernels to the NM recipe, sort of a hybrid of the two.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

