Florida Brownies {Bake!}

A few weeks ago, M needed a treat to take to a Superbowl party. It just so happened that I was baking these brownies from Nick Malgieri‘s Bake! that weekend, so it worked out perfectly.

This was a very simple and straightforward recipe. The ingredients were butter, unsweetened chocolate, eggs, vanilla, salt, sugar, and flour.

For some reason, I tend to pass over recipes that call for baking chocolate in favor of those that use cocoa. This is beginning to change, thanks in large part to Nick. Watching him bake at a recent cooking class, as well as reading and baking his recipes, has made me realize that baking chocolate is actually pretty easy to work with, and the results are far superior to what you get using only cocoa or chocolate chips.

I began by meting the butter, then adding the chocolate to the pan off the heat. While the chocolate was melting, I whisked together the eggs, vanilla, and salt, then whisked in the sugar. I beat the sugar mixture in the electric mixer until it was very light and fluffy — about 10 minutes. I whisked the butter and chocolate, then added it to the sugar and mixed gently. I added the flour and mixed just until it was all combined.

I scraped the batter into a pan lined with buttered foil, then baked the brownies in a 375°F oven for about 35 minutes. I cooled the brownies for a bit, then unmolded them to a cutting board and cut them into 2-inch squares.

I plated most of the brownies for M to take to her party, but of course kept some at home, too. I’m a big fan of fudgy brownies, but these were more cakey than fudgy. They were still delicious — among the best cake-like brownies I’ve tasted. And they were a hit at the party, too, as evidenced by the empty plate M brought home.

10 Comments

  1. Kayte said,

    March 9, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    Brownies are always a hit at parties, so sending brownies with M to the party was a great idea…and sending this was apparently a super-great idea. Guys here loved them as well. I have made them twice since because guys here are all about the brownies. Next time M delivers brownies maybe it could be here! ;-)

    • gaaarp said,

      March 9, 2011 at 7:11 pm

      It worked for Ina!

  2. LaJuana said,

    February 20, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    You sold me…on the cookbook! I’ve ordered it…couldn’t resist after seeing the things you’ve baked from it and your comments on them …and reading various pages from it on Amazon! Just what I needed, another cookbook! : ) THANKS! No, really, THANKS!

    • gaaarp said,

      February 21, 2011 at 7:28 am

      It’s really a great book. You’ll love it. I made Danish from it this weekend. They were so good!!

  3. teaandscones said,

    February 20, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    These were so good. Even after being in the fridge for a few days they were still delicious. They were so easy to make and definitely a repeater. They look great.

    • gaaarp said,

      February 20, 2011 at 10:05 pm

      Thanks. I baked them right before M took them to the party, so they never made it as far as the fridge. I will have to try chilling them next time like the recipe calls for.

  4. Abby said,

    February 20, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    Your post makes me want to bake these again…we loved them so much!

    • gaaarp said,

      February 20, 2011 at 10:04 pm

      My daughters really liked them, too. In fact, they wanted me to make them again as soon as they were gone!

  5. February 20, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    Glad to see your post after all I’ve heard about these brownies! I’m a fudgy-brownie gal, so thise will not be at the top of my list, but I can see how they would be crowd pleasers.

    • gaaarp said,

      February 20, 2011 at 4:43 pm

      I have to admit, even lacking fudginess, they were pretty tasty.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

