Roman Almond & Pine Nut Tart {ModBak}

I made this recipe a few weeks ago but am just getting around to blogging it now. I’m not sure why it took me so long. Like most recipes in the Sweet Tarts & Pies section of The Modern Baker, this one was quite simple to put together. In fact, since I already had homemade almond paste in the fridge and pine nuts in the cupboard, I didn’t even have to buy any ingredients.

I made the filling in the stand mixer by beating almond paste and sugar, then adding eggs, butter, vanilla, lemon zest, and flour. I scraped the filling into a sweet tart crust.

I topped the tart with pine nuts and pressed them in with the palm of my hand. Pine nuts seemed like a strange addition to a sweet tart, and I was anxious to see how it would turn out.

I baked the tart in a 350°F oven for about 30 minutes, until the crust was baked through and the filling was set.

I cooled the tart, then sliced and served it for dessert.

J is a pine nut nut, so I knew she would love it. And I liked it a lot, too. It tasted like an almond cake or bread. The filling was baked through and had a texture that reminded me of scones. The pine nuts gave it a nice texture and complimented the almond flavor.

This is one of those recipes that I might never have made but for the Modern Baker Challenge. But I’m glad I tried it. And I will probably make it again.

8 Comments

  1. Renee said,

    May 28, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    I loved it too… but my pine nuts were bad. So sad. Great tart though!!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 29, 2011 at 11:38 am

      You’ll have to make it again with fresh pine nuts!

  2. Kayte said,

    May 26, 2011 at 11:02 am

    Loved this one, I am a pine nut, too! And I think Macadamia nuts taste a lot like pine nuts as well…just in case you were wondering and all. This looks lovely, am making this for Father’s Day weekend as it was a hit around here and we need lots of desserts that weekend…figuring this one isn’t as sweet as some of the others so it will round it all out nicely. Yours looks wonderful…as usual!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 26, 2011 at 10:55 pm

      Thanks. It was a nice change from some of the super-sweet, ultra-rich tarts I’ve made recently.

  3. Abby said,

    May 25, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    We loved this one. I was very sorry that I’d only made one mini-tart…I’ll definitely make it again!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 25, 2011 at 9:58 pm

      I made the full size one. It was huge!

  4. Margaret said,

    May 25, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    Yep, that ones on my list. Looks good to me.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

