Nut Tart Dough {ModBak}

The Sweet Tarts & Pies section of The Modern Baker includes three dough recipes: sweet tart dough, chocolate nut dough, and press-in cookie dough. This recipe is a variation of the sweet tart dough, and even though it’s not an official Modern Baker Challenge recipe, I found it interesting enough to merit its own post.

This dough calls for the same ingredients as the sweet tart dough — flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, butter, eggs, and water — with the addition of 1/2 cup of chopped nuts. Since I was making this dough for the chocolate orange hazelnut tart, I naturally used hazelnuts in the crust.

I began by mixing sugar and chopped hazelnuts in the food processor, then adding the rest of the dry ingredients.

I blended in the butter, then added an egg, egg yolk, and water and pulsed until the dough held together in a ball.

I preshaped the dough into disks, then wrapped and refrigerated the dough for a few hours before rolling it out and pressing it into tart pans.

This dough makes a really delicious crust. It wasn’t quite as flaky as the regular sweet tart dough, but it was still rich, buttery, and had additional flavor from the hazelnuts.

I will definitely use this crust the next time I make the chocolate orange hazelnut tart. And I might even try it for some of the other tarts in this section.

5 Comments

  1. July 16, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    [...] that it would be good with any tart featuring chocolate. After my successes with sweet tart dough, nut tart dough, and press-in cookie dough, I knew this one would be great, [...]

  2. Abby said,

    June 27, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    Your crust looks perfect….I did not have as much success when I tried it with almonds. Guess I’ll have to try it again!

    • gaaarp said,

      June 27, 2011 at 10:33 pm

      Thanks. I loved it with hazelnuts, although I’m tempted to try it with cashews next time.

  3. Kayte said,

    June 26, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    Did you put this on the site? Maybe at the bottom you could put something like Bonus Recipe: Nut Tart Dough (Variation of….) and then link your post. I think this should get some play time…it looks wonderful, I will give it a try as well. What size tart is that in your photo? Just curious…it looks wonderful.

    • gaaarp said,

      June 26, 2011 at 7:22 pm

      Good idea, Kayte. Thanks. I added it right after the sweet tart dough. I initially forgot what size pan it was, but after looking at the picture of the chocolate orange hazelnut tart and seeing the plate it was on, I can definitively state that it was a 6″ tart pan.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

