Cinnamon Sugar Pull-apart Bread {Recipe} {BOM}

The July BOM (bread of the month) for the Facebook Artisan Bread Bakers group came to us from Tracey at Tracey’s Culinary Adventures. She made this cinnamon sugar pull-apart bread (click the link for the recipe) a few weeks ago, and as soon as I saw the recipe, I knew I wanted to make it. Apparently, so did a lot of other people, as this has been one of the more popular BOMs in recent months.

I mixed the dough according to Tracey’s instructions, with two small changes. First, her recipe calls for 2 3/4 cups flour, but she notes that she has always had to add an additional 1/4 cup flour while mixing the dough. So I decided to go ahead and start with 3 cups flour, which worked perfectly.

The other change I made was to use one jumbo egg, rather than two large eggs, only because I only had one egg and it happened to be jumbo. This didn’t seem to impact the dough at all.

After bulk fermenting the dough, I rolled it out to a 12 x 20-inch rectangle.

I brushed the dough with browned butter, then covered it with a perverse amount of cinnamon sugar.

I cut the dough into six strips, stacked them, and cut them again into six pieces.

I gathered the pieces and put them in a 9×5-inch baking pan.

One issue I had while assembling the loaf was that the cinnamon sugar fell off the strips of dough as I picked them up to stack them. I put some of the sugar back on the dough, but still ended up with this on my pastry mat when I was done.

Not wanting to waste all that sugary goodness, I gathered up the cinnamon sugar and put it on top of the loaf in the pan.

After setting the dough aside for a second rise, I baked it according to the recipe. It smelled like monkey bread or a cinnamon-swirl loaf while it baked and brought the family from all over the house to see what was baking.

I let the loaf cool in the pan for 20 minutes, but by the time it hit the platter, there was no holding back.

This bread was gooey, messy, and delicious. It was especially good with a little honey butter glopped between the layers. It was like a grown-up version of monkey bread. Although the kids loved it, too.

16 Comments

  1. Anne Marie said,

    July 23, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    You added honey butter! Are you one of “those people” who are thin as a rail?

    • gaaarp said,

      July 23, 2011 at 11:58 pm

      I used to be able to eat anything and everything without gaining an ounce. Unfortunately, my metabolism slowed down, but the eating didn’t.

  2. July 23, 2011 at 11:20 am

    [...] Last but not least, this bread was the July bread for the Facebook group Artisan Bread Bakers thoughtfully overseen by our good buddy Phyl, a.k.a. Gaaarp. [...]

  3. Sara said,

    July 12, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    I made this recently too–as I mentioned on our FB page, the fact that it’s a pull-apart bread (and that it is therefore so easy to rip off pieces) makes it dangerous. I made it only because we were visiting with friends, and that woudl prevent me from doing too much damage to myself. I’ve never tried monkey bread but I’m thinking I should…when we have company of course.

    • gaaarp said,

      July 13, 2011 at 8:55 pm

      You definitely have to try monkey bread. It’s much more decadent than the cinnamon pull-apart bread.

  4. Renee said,

    July 7, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    The minute I saw this one on Joy and Baker’s site I knew I had to make it soon. I plan to bring it to a friend who just had a baby later this month. Hopefully, it’ll make it to her house.

    • gaaarp said,

      July 13, 2011 at 8:48 pm

      You might want to put it in the trunk.

  5. Tracey said,

    July 7, 2011 at 7:31 am

    Your bread looks fantastic Phyl! I had the same issue with the sugar falling off onto the mat, I was thinking maybe that’s why the recipe calls for such an obscene amount of it in the first place. Glad you guys enjoyed it :)

    • gaaarp said,

      July 7, 2011 at 4:48 pm

      I wonder if misting it with water after sprinkling the cinnamon sugar on the dough would have helped? I remember doing that for a cinnamon swirl loaf before. It kept that sugar from falling out and didn’t seem to have any impact on how the bread came out.

      • yumaramaPaul said,

        July 23, 2011 at 12:50 pm

        Thanks to having read this beforehand on Phyl’s blog, I cleaned all stray flour and sticky dough bits off the exposed counter space around the dough after rolling it out.

        Any of the sugar mix that fell off was easily scooped up with the bench cutter and sprinkled back onto the dough as I was slicing and stacking and anything still around at the very end was spread on top of the panned dough.

  6. Margaret said,

    July 6, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    Oh my but that looks wonderful . Looking forward to this one. Great pics.

    • gaaarp said,

      July 7, 2011 at 4:45 pm

      Thanks. I can’t wait to hear what you think of it.

  7. Abby said,

    July 6, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    We loved this one! I used leftover ABED sweet dough…such a great use of leftover dough! Yours looks sooooo tasty good!

    • gaaarp said,

      July 7, 2011 at 4:45 pm

      What a great idea! I wish I had thought of that, since I have ABED sweet dough in the freezer.

  8. Kayte said,

    July 6, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    I could not be trusted with this…no way could I have two bites of this and put it down. I am going to have to make this when there is lots of company and I will be lucky to get two bites. My yours looks absolutely sinful. Wonderful job on this one.

    • gaaarp said,

      July 6, 2011 at 10:16 pm

      Thanks. It’s definitely one to make when you have others around to keep you from eating the whole thing. Thankfully, I had the girls here to save me from myself.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

