Sour Cream Apple Pie {ModBak}

This recipe, the last of three apple pie recipes in the Sweet Tarts & Pies section of The Modern Baker, is the only one that really seems like pie. The other two — Breton apple pie and Maida’s Big Apple Pie — are more of a cake and tart, respectively. Each one is delicious in its own right, but none, including this one, reminds me of a classic apple pie. When I think of apple pie, I picture a double-crusted pie (although I don’t have anything against crumb topping, either) with a filling made of apples, sugar, cinnamon, butter, maybe a splash of lemon juice, and not much else.

The twist in this recipe is the addition of sour cream, which makes a custard-style pie. To make the pie, I began by cooking down some apples in butter and sugar. While the apples were cooking, I whisked together flour, sugar, eggs, vanilla, and sour cream. Then I made the crumb topping, which consisted of flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, and butter. Finally, I rolled out and panned a single crust sweet pie dough.

Once the apples had cooled, I combined them with the sour cream custard mixture.

As soon as I put the filling into the pie, I knew I had a bit too much. Fortunately, I had placed the pie pan on a parchment-lined jelly roll pan, so it caught the overflow.

After topping the pie with the crumbs, I baked it at 350°F for about 55 minutes, until the filling was set and the topping nicely browned.

I cooled the pie (more or less), then sliced and served it for a late-evening snack.

The recipe says that the pie needs no accompaniment, and it was certainly good on its own.

Don’t tell Nick, but it was also awesome with ice cream and whipped cream!

6 Comments

  1. October 12, 2011 at 7:36 am

    [...] pie, nothing extraordinary. Probably not one I’ll make again. But then, I have a lot of great apple pie, tart, and cake recipes to choose from. LD_AddCustomAttr("AdOpt", "1"); [...]

  2. Renee said,

    July 28, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    My husband liked this one a lot. I’m not an apple pie person but overall I thought it was good.

    • gaaarp said,

      July 29, 2011 at 5:13 pm

      Not an apple pie person?!? Pardon me while I go unfriend you on Facebook. :-)

  3. Kayte said,

    July 27, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    We liked this, but it didn’t replace our favorite apple pie…too much stuff in it or something, not sure. It was a great pie to make and serve, though…yours looks particularly wonderful, both inside and out, absolutely beautiful!

    • gaaarp said,

      July 27, 2011 at 8:48 pm

      Thanks. I really liked it, too, but wouldn’t replace old fashioned apple pie with it.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

