Raspberry Almond Tartlets {ModBak}

Talk about saving the best for last. This is the final recipe I made from the Sweet Tarts & Pies section of The Modern Baker, and what a way to finish! I would have to put this recipe in the top 3 for this section, right up there with the Pumpkin Pecan and Bourbon-scented Pecan Tarts.

I put this one off until the end, not just because it’s near the end of the section (I tend to make the recipes roughly in order), but also because tartlets always seem a bit fussy to me. I tend to favor full-size tarts and pies, as their miniature counterparts tend to be tedious to assemble. I needn’t have worried with this recipe, however, as it came together really quickly.

Having made the crust the day before to use for lemon lime tartlets, all I had to do was roll it out, cut it, and fit it into the mini muffin pans.

I had planned to make a half recipe of the lemon lime and raspberry almond tartlets, so I divided a single batch of sweet tart dough and set aside half for each recipe. There was a small chunk of dough leftover when I made the lemon lime tartlets, and I had stuck that in the fridge after I made the crusts for those the day before. As I rolled out the dough for the raspberry tartlets, I realized there was enough dough to make more than just 12 tartlets. To my surprise, between the leftovers from the day before and the raspberry tartlet dough, I was able to make 24 tartlet shells.

While the dough chilled in the fridge, I put together the filling, which consisted of almond paste, sugar, eggs, vanilla, butter, and flour, all whirred together in the food processor. Then I gathered my ingredients to assemble the tartlets.

I began by putting a dab of seedless raspberry preserves in each shell, then topping that with either one large raspberry or two small blackberries.

Then I spooned in the filling to cover the berries. Nick says to spread the filling evenly with an offset spatula, but mine seemed to even itself out nicely. I sprinkled the top of each tartlet with sliced almonds, and they were ready to bake.

I baked the tartlets at 350°F for 20 minutes, until the crust was baked through and the filling was puffy and set.

Allowing the tartlets to cool was no easy task, but I left them alone for about 25 minutes, until the pan was cool enough to handle, then I removed each tartlet to a rack to finish cooling. Well, all except for those destined for the dessert plate.

In case you’re wondering, that wasn’t all for me. My wife and I split the tartlets on the plate. But I did sneak another one every time I walked past the table. And I found lots of excuses to pass through the dining room.

I really enjoyed these tartlets. The almond paste gave the filling a wonderfully rich and warm flavor, while the berries provided a juicy, tart contrast. I liked the blackberry ones the best, although I wouldn’t say no to either of them. Which is why I eventually had to wrap them and put them away.

So that’s it for the sweet tarts and pies. On to Puff Pastries. I hope you’ll come along for the ride.

12 Comments

  1. mike said,

    September 26, 2011 at 11:42 pm

    Ok, now I really truly have to get out my copy of Modern Baker. I know his Honey Roasted Peanut cookies were a hit – I need to try this recipe. I love blackberries as well – beautiful!

    • gaaarp said,

      September 27, 2011 at 10:33 pm

      Thanks! There are so many recipes in this book that are just outstanding.

  2. Melanie said,

    August 2, 2011 at 11:01 am

    These are addictive aren’t they? Yours looks so delicious! I love the scalloped edge on your shells. I’ll have to do that to mine next time. When I gave a plate of these to my neighbor, she told me a couple days later that she ate all of them but one, which she left for her husband. I thought that was funny. She couldn’t stop eating them either.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 2, 2011 at 6:38 pm

      Thanks. The scallops were really easy to do with a cutter. I was nervous about them coming out of the pan, as some of the other bakers who used mini muffin pans reported problems with getting them to release. But they lifted right out.

  3. Abby said,

    July 28, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    You make these look so easy and so incredibly tasty…maybe I should make a few, even though the hubby hates raspberries. But then I’d eat them all…decisions, decisions.

    • gaaarp said,

      July 29, 2011 at 11:49 am

      You could make a few without raspberries. Or maybe substitute a fruit or berry that he would eat.

  4. Renee said,

    July 28, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    These were a favorite of mine. I love almond paste! I just want to spread it on bread and eat it.

    • gaaarp said,

      July 29, 2011 at 11:48 am

      You mean you aren’t supposed to do that? I thought you could use it as a substitute for peanut butter!

  5. Pamela said,

    July 27, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    Sigh…looks fabulous!! Another job, well done!

    • gaaarp said,

      July 27, 2011 at 9:25 pm

      Thanks! I’d offer to save you one, but it’s too late.

  6. Kayte said,

    July 27, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    Oh, Phyl, these look so good…you did a really wonderful job with these! Anything with Almond paste and berries gets my attention immediately. I don’t know why I have left these until the last…maybe was waiting for good raspberries. No excuse now!

    • gaaarp said,

      July 27, 2011 at 8:50 pm

      You definitely don’t want to skip these. They are really easy and so good!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

