Pumpkin Dinner Roundup

Welcome, Fall! This is, by far, my favorite season. And one my favorite things about this time of year…

Pumpkins!! Sure, they’re fun to carve, and they make great decorations. But what I really love to do with pumpkins is cook and bake with them. So, I rounded up some of my friends for a Fall-welcoming pumpkin dinner.

Renee over at Every Pot and Pan got dinner started with not one, but two recipes: Pumpkin Curry Soup and three varieties of Pumpkin Fries. She preferred the cinnamon fries, but I’d love to try the herb and spicy versions, too!

Nancy from The Dogs Eat the Crumbs rushed back from her daughter’s wedding to make another soup for us, Roasted Pumpkin Soup with Cider Cream. Mmm, mmm good!

Di over at Di’s Kitchen Notebook decided to test a new recipe on us, and we’re so glad she did. Her Pumpkin Brioche Rolls look both cute and delicious!

Marthe of The Baking Bluefinger made a delicious entrée of Pasta with Mushrooms and Pumpkin-Gorgonzola Sauce.

And nothing goes better with a big bowl of pasta than slice of fresh, warm bread. Margaret at Tea and Scones knows this, so she provided us with this beautiful, yeasty Braided Pumpkin Bread.

Mel from Mel’s Home Baking Adventure also shared two dishes with us. First, she made Pumpkin Ravioli, combining recipes from Wolfgang Puck and Giada.

And as if that wasn’t enough, she also made these amazing looking Pumpkin Scones.

Heather, over at Tease-spoon of Sugar, made this wonderful Pumpkin Risotto as an elegant, savory side dish.

My contribution was another side dish (although I could easily eat this as a complete meal): Stuffed Pumpkin.

In addition to providing the jack-o-lanterns at the top of the page, Kayte of Grandma’s Kitchen Table also gave us these wonderful Pumpkin Cookie Bites for dessert.

And last, but certainly not least, Abby at Stir it! Scrape it! Mix it! Bake it! got the whole family involved in making these amazing Pumpkin Muffins!

I’m sure these Pumpkin Muffins will go fast, but I’m hoping there are a few left for breakfast tomorrow morning!

Man, am I stuffed. I think I’ll have to wait a bit before I drink my pumpkin coffee with a slice of good, old fashioned pumpkin pie.

I hope you enjoyed this pumpkin dinner as much as I did. Be sure to check back in a few weeks for our Thanksdiving Dinner Roundup!

21 Comments

  1. October 2, 2012 at 7:58 am

    [...] Baking with Julia recipe. After all, it features one of my favorite ingredients: pumpkin! To say I love pumpkin doesn’t really do justice to how I feel about this ingredient. Obsessed might be a better [...]

  2. September 24, 2012 at 8:22 am

    [...] I’m talking about bananas. Regular readers of my blog know about my obsession with all things pumpkin, as well as my love of apples. But I am equally enamored with [...]

  3. December 12, 2011 at 7:04 am

    [...] I’ve participated in a number of online food parties. I even hosted a few myself, like the Pumpkin Dinner and Thanksgiving Dinner roundups. With these “parties” everyone makes a dish, takes [...]

  4. Hanaa said,

    October 17, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    Man, I really missed out. Everything looks great. I love how creative everyone got with their recipes.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 17, 2011 at 7:51 pm

      We missed you. But never fear, there’s always Thanksgiving!

  5. Renee said,

    October 17, 2011 at 10:32 am

    Great round-up Phyl!! Such fun! Getting started on the Thanksgiving recipe search today!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 17, 2011 at 11:37 am

      I need to do that. With all the organizing and assigning I’ve been doing, I haven’t decided what I’m going to make.

  6. Chaya said,

    October 16, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    Delicious round-up. I forgot all about it. I must write these on my calendar.

  7. Di said,

    October 13, 2011 at 9:11 am

    Great round-up, Phyl! Thanks for organizing this–now I have lots of new pumpkin dishes to try. I’m looking forward to the Thanksgiving event, too.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 13, 2011 at 5:45 pm

      Thanks, Di. It was fun. I’m looking forward to Thanksgiving, too.

  8. Melanie said,

    October 13, 2011 at 8:40 am

    Everything looks so wonderful and festive! Its so neat to see a whole meal using pumpkin all right here in one place. I see several dishes that I want to try, not sure where to start. They all look so yummy!!
    There is also pumpkin ravioli and some scones over at goldentweety.blogspot.com if you want to take a peek.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 13, 2011 at 5:45 pm

      Mel, so sorry I missed your post. I thought I had checked everyone’s blogs. No matter, I added you to the party!

  9. nancy/n.o.e. said,

    October 12, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    This is a wonderful assortment of dishes – all that pumpkin-y goodness in one post!! It was such fun to be part of the dinner and I’m so glad you committed to a Thanksgiving roundup!!!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 13, 2011 at 5:44 pm

      Thanks! And thank you for committing to making something for the roundup!!

  10. Heather said,

    October 12, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    What a great collection of recipes! Thanks for organizing it – it was fun and a great excuse to force me to try something new. Too bad we’re not all neighbors, it would have been a great potluck!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 12, 2011 at 9:01 pm

      We could have such a great time! So, what are you making for Thanksgiving?

      • Heather said,

        October 13, 2011 at 1:02 am

        Hmmm…I’m thinking a dessert. But definitely NOT pumpkin pie. How’s your list coming? Short on anything?

  11. Abby said,

    October 12, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    Yay! So happy to see how the whole meal turned out. And the greatest thing is that, even with all of those pumpkin dishes, they all look so different that I don’t even think I would get tired of pumpkin after eating it all! Can’t wait to try all of these with our SIXTY…yes, that’s right, 60, CSA squash/pumpkins sitting in my basement.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 12, 2011 at 8:42 pm

      Oooh, I’m so jealous! I’d love to have that many pumpkins/squash in my basement.

  12. Kayte said,

    October 12, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    Wow, everyone’s food looks so good! I am doing a lot of marking to try, especially a lot for someone who doesn’t love pumpkin, but then I am married to a pumpkin eater, so am certain he will be very appreciative. And, believe it or not, I think I just might need to revisit this whole “I don’t like pumpkin as a food” thing. Starting with the soups! Thanks for doing this, Phyl, and I am looking forward to Thanksgiving already!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 12, 2011 at 7:27 pm

      Thanks for taking part! Those cookies look really delicious! And thanks for the suggestion about Thanksgiving (I think).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

