Hummus {FFwD}

Part of what I enjoy about French Fridays with Dorie is making something completely new and unfamiliar to me, like last week’s Endive, Apples, and Grapes. It’s fun exploring new flavors, trying new ingredients, and learning new techniques.

But there’s also something enjoyable about a trying a recipe that’s a new version of an old favorite. And that’s what this week’s offering was for me.

I love hummus, and I never go to a Middle Eastern restaurant without trying the house version. And I’ve made lots of hummus over the years. One of my favorite recipes is from the Moosewood Cookbook, but I’m always game to try a new one.

This was a good, solid hummus. Not remarkable in any way. But quite tasty. And it was especially good served on flatbread that I made with this recipe from King Arthur Flour.

I don’t know if I’ll make Dorie’s version of hummus again, but I’ll definitely make the KAF flatbread to use as a base for hummus and other dips and spreads.

17 Comments

  1. Teresa said,

    October 6, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    Moosewood’s always been my starting point for hummus, too. I enjoyed this one, though. Your flatbread looks lovely!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 6, 2012 at 7:59 pm

      Thanks! It was good, but it made me want to whip up a batch of Moosewood hummus for sure!

  2. Maria said,

    October 6, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    I used to make a flatbread with chickpea flour but I thought that would be kinda of an over-kill to put hummus on chickpea flatbread so I opted for veggies!!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 6, 2012 at 3:44 pm

      Veggies sound like a great option, too!

  3. Alice said,

    October 6, 2012 at 9:53 am

    your hummus does look great! :) thats the crux of the problem with hummus for me, looks great and tastes so “blah”…. sad face!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 6, 2012 at 10:21 am

      That’s why I’ve tried so many recipes — to find one that I really like.

      • Alice said,

        October 6, 2012 at 10:40 am

        yes, I have only just begun that journey for myself… :)

  4. betsy said,

    October 5, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    Homemade flatbread sounds great. I’ll check out that recipe. I was thinking of making homemade whole wheat pita, but I ran out of time…

    • gaaarp said,

      October 6, 2012 at 10:20 am

      I enjoy homemade pita, too. But this flatbread was so quick and easy to make, it was hard to pass up.

  5. teaandscones said,

    October 5, 2012 at 8:45 pm

    I wish I had had time for the flatbread. But I did like the hummus. I think it was the cummin.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 6, 2012 at 10:20 am

      You should try the flatbread sometime. It was easy and pretty fast.

  6. October 5, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    Home made flatbread – what a great idea to go with your hummus. I need to try the Moosewood recipe – we love hummus at my house.

  7. October 5, 2012 at 8:32 am

    I like that you made your own flatbread! Love the hummus with it.

  8. October 5, 2012 at 8:13 am

    You made your own flatbread! I’m so impressed!
    Your hummus looks great.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 5, 2012 at 8:15 am

      Thanks. The flatbread was my friend Abby’s idea. My baking friends are always coming up with fun recipes to try.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

