Creamy Mushrooms and Eggs {FFwD}

AMFT Cover

Although I haven’t been participating in French Fridays with Dorie (or any other bake- or cook-along group) recently, I happened by the website the other day, and this recipe was enough to pull me back in. Mushrooms, cream, and poached eggs (singing: these are a few of my favorite things) on top of toasted brioche — I mean, what’s not to love?

This recipe was as simple as it was delicious. Cleaning the mushroom caps and chopping the mushrooms, shallot, rosemary, and mint were the most time-consuming parts of the whole process. After that, it was just a matter of adding everything to the pan in the right order while Mom poached some eggs.

Once I had my mise en place, I began by heating olive oil and melting butter in a sauté pan. I dropped in the shallot and sautéed it for a few minutes, then added the mushrooms, salt, and pepper. Once the mushrooms had given up their liquid and begun to soften, I added cream and let it simmer away for a few minutes while I sliced up the brioche and started toasting it. Finally, I removed the pan from the heat and stirred in rosemary and mint.

By that time, Mom was finished poaching the eggs (perfectly, I might add), and we plated everything. We put a slice of brioche on the plate, topped it with a nice spoonful of mushrooms and the poached egg, and then finished it off by spooning the mushroom cream over the top.

Everyone agreed that this was a perfect Sunday supper — simple, homey, filling, and insanely delicious.

I’m glad to be back cooking with my friends for French Fridays. I can’t say for sure how many recipes I will make, or if I’ll post many or any of them. But I have already made next week’s Coupetade. And I love both asparagus and avocado. So there’s a good chance I’ll be around at least for the month of May.

Bon appetite!

22 Comments

  1. Stephanie V said,

    May 8, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    I can’t wait to try the egg/mushroom dish. I have been making soft-boiled eggs like crazy lately and am not very adept at making poached eggs, so i might just go that route!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 8, 2013 at 9:01 pm

      Soft-boiled eggs would be great, although poached eggs aren’t that difficult. My advice when you have a technique or food with which you aren’t familiar is to make it weekly for a few months until you become expert at it. I’ve done that with a number of things — sourdough bread, caramel, pizza dough.

  2. dulceshome said,

    May 7, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    I ended up coming back for this too! I was pleased to see you!!!
    I thought this was terrific too.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 7, 2013 at 9:35 pm

      Thanks. It’s good to be back and nice to think I was missed.

      I can’t wait to make this again, this time with truffle salt (thanks for the inspiration!).

  3. Anne Marie said,

    May 6, 2013 at 8:10 pm

    Welcome back. This was a nice recipe to pull you back into the fold.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 6, 2013 at 9:19 pm

      Thanks. I agree — this was an easy, delicious recipe, perfect for wading back into the FFwD waters.

  4. May 6, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    What a nice surprise, to open my email and see a new blog post from you.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 6, 2013 at 9:18 pm

      Thanks. That’s very sweet of you.

  5. Cher said,

    May 6, 2013 at 8:11 am

    Welcome back! May is a good month to jump back in.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 6, 2013 at 9:18 pm

      Thanks. Yeah, they all look like good recipes this month.

  6. May 6, 2013 at 6:38 am

    Welcome back to French Fridays! This was the perfect meal to pull you in…it was delicious!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 6, 2013 at 7:14 am

      And easy, too. A nice combination for a Sunday supper. Thanks!

  7. May 6, 2013 at 5:56 am

    Welcome back!!! Glad you enjoyed this dish, too :)

    • gaaarp said,

      May 6, 2013 at 7:14 am

      Thanks! This dish was quite the welcome home.

  8. Alice said,

    May 5, 2013 at 11:32 pm

    awesome to have you back! :)

    • gaaarp said,

      May 6, 2013 at 7:13 am

      Thanks, Alice! It’s nice to be back.

  9. Abby said,

    May 5, 2013 at 10:38 pm

    Oh, does that ever look delicious! And it’s nice to see you back posting…if even just a bit. :-)

    • gaaarp said,

      May 6, 2013 at 7:13 am

      Thanks, Abby. It was really good. We all decided it could be Sunday supper anytime.

  10. Teresa said,

    May 5, 2013 at 10:28 pm

    So glad to see you back! May is looking like a great month and the Food Revolution post on the 17th should be a lot of fun, too. I was really pleased with this week’s recipe – so easy and adaptable, but delicious exactly as written.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 6, 2013 at 7:12 am

      Thanks, Teresa. Your comment on the Coupetade post was what prompted me to look at the FFwD lineup for May. So I credit you with getting me involved again. Thanks!!

  11. nancyo said,

    May 5, 2013 at 9:01 pm

    Glad you’re back cooking AND posting, even if there’s isn’t any photographic evidence! This sounds really good, although I’m trying to imagine rosemary and mint together. Interesting!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 5, 2013 at 9:25 pm

      Thanks, Nancy. I wondered about the herb combo, too, but it actually worked. The mint toned down the rosemary a bit. I added more mint after tasting it, but neither gave a strong flavor to the finished dish.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

