Anne Le Blanc’s Pistachio Avocado {FFwD}

Pistachio Avocodo

This week’s French Fridays with Dorie recipe is hardly a recipe; it’s more a set of assembly instructions. If fact, Dorie says in the introduction that she almost didn’t include this one in the book. Man, am I glad she did!

The hardest part of the whole operation was finding pistachio oil. I checked two health food/specialty stores in the area, but neither had it. Our local grocery chain has a pretty nice specialty foods selection, so I checked there, and voila! It was crazy expensive ($16 for 8 ounces), but I had searched so hard for it, I decided to splurge. You can also make your own pistachio oil, as several of the Doristas were planning to do for this recipe.

In addition to the pistachio oil, the recipe calls for an avocado, lemon juice, and coarse sea salt. You slice the avocado in half, remove the pit, and drizzle the flesh with lemon juice, squeezing a little into the cavity, too. After sprinkling coarse sea salt over the flesh, you fill the cavity almost to the top with pistachio oil. And that’s it.

Words can scarcely describe how good this was. I was going to share one of the halves with my daughter, but I ate the whole thing before she got to the kitchen. It was slightly sweet, salty, unctuous, oily (in a good way), nutty, toasty, in a word, DELICIOUS!!!

I’m grateful to Dorie for introducing me not only to this recipe (and yes, Dorie, I think it qualifies as a recipe) but also to pistachio oil. When I first opened the oil and tasted it, I wondered how I had lived my entire life up to now without it.

Needless to say, I will be making this recipe again. In fact, I’ve already made it twice; and I have one more avocado ripening on the counter.

28 Comments

  1. June 5, 2013 at 9:00 am

    Oh! That pistachio oil sounds incredible! I am so jealous, wish we could have nuts in the house!

    • gaaarp said,

      June 6, 2013 at 5:51 pm

      I don’t know how I’d survive if someone in the house had a nut allergy.

  2. betsy said,

    June 2, 2013 at 11:09 pm

    I made my own oil, but your recommendation of the real thing makes me want to splurge after all.

    • gaaarp said,

      June 2, 2013 at 11:11 pm

      I would definitely recommend it! Of course, I haven’t had the homemade yet to compare.

  3. Maria said,

    June 2, 2013 at 11:35 am

    I am obsessed with this oil now I HAVE to have it!!!

  4. June 2, 2013 at 8:06 am

    Sometimes a splurge is a good thing! I do plan on buying the pistachio oil for comparison. I just added a can to my basket on Amazon. This was so good and I truly enjoyed it! Glad it was a hit with you too! Have a wonderful weekend!

    • gaaarp said,

      June 2, 2013 at 9:48 pm

      Thanks! I’m sure you’ll love the oil!

  5. June 1, 2013 at 12:10 pm

    Oh I too have fallen ridiculously in love with this oil! Although mine was just a homemade version.. I’m sure the real stuff would just make me go gaga.

    • gaaarp said,

      June 2, 2013 at 9:47 pm

      I’m going to make the homemade oil when I get close to the bottom of the can that I bought (shouldn’t be too long at the rate I’m going). I’d really like to compare the two side by side.

  6. June 1, 2013 at 11:17 am

    I tried the homemade oil version and it was lovely, but rest assured I plan to splurge the next time I see a bottle. Heck I paid like $10 for cardamom :) We enjoyed this but it was not sublime and I am sure my family would have preferred the combo on toast or with other add ins- so I will be revisiting this one for sure !

    • gaaarp said,

      June 2, 2013 at 9:46 pm

      I think with the base recipe, you could take it in a lot of directions. Toast would be nice. I think that’s how Paula served hers.

  7. Teresa said,

    June 1, 2013 at 2:00 am

    The homemade oil was nice, but I liked it enough that I think I’m going to spring for a bottle of the good stuff. This week’s dish was almost universally popular – well worth inclusion in the book.

    • gaaarp said,

      June 2, 2013 at 9:45 pm

      I agree. This recipe was too good not to share. And I’m definitely with you on springing for the oil. I’ve found so many uses for it already.

  8. May 31, 2013 at 9:55 pm

    If I had first eaten half of this all by myself I know that I too would have eaten the other half and then scrambled to find an alternative for the dinner table. How funny. But true.

    • gaaarp said,

      June 2, 2013 at 9:44 pm

      I just kept telling myself, “But is the healthy kind of fat.”

  9. Liz said,

    May 31, 2013 at 9:53 pm

    This was a treat, wasn’t it? Glad you enjoyed!!!

  10. Cher said,

    May 31, 2013 at 8:04 pm

    This WAS good, wasn’t it?
    I did end up sharing with my parents. After all, they did raise me :-)

    • gaaarp said,

      May 31, 2013 at 9:05 pm

      I shared the second batch with the whole family. Had to make sure it was good first.

  11. May 31, 2013 at 5:22 pm

    You sound like you ran around like I did trying to find THAT oil. It was really a wonderful experience eating this. Lucky for me my daughter is allergic to nuts.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 31, 2013 at 9:05 pm

      I knew I should have started at the grocery, as they have a great selection. Serves me right for trying specialty stores first.

  12. Kayte said,

    May 31, 2013 at 2:27 pm

    Well, now I am going to need to try this…the thought of eating that much oil in one sitting makes my skin bump up but I can share it around as everyone here loves pistachio oil and avocado so it’s bound to be a hit. Thanks for the glowing report, will try it soon.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 31, 2013 at 3:51 pm

      The second time I made it, I cubed the avocado and drizzled it with lemon juice and pistachio oil, so not nearly as much oil that way. It was still just as good, though.

  13. Ei said,

    May 31, 2013 at 9:51 am

    Looks great!

  14. Rebecca said,

    May 31, 2013 at 7:55 am

    Oh wow. I’m convinced! Must go find pistachio oil now….

    (how do you eat it? just scoop the avocado flesh/oil spoon by spoon?)

    • gaaarp said,

      May 31, 2013 at 3:49 pm

      Yep, just scooped it with a spoon. I won’t admit to licking the pistacio oil off the plate, but that may have happened.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

