Goat Cheese & Strawberry Tartine {FFwD}

I wasn’t planning on participating in this week’s French Fridays with Dorie post. In fact, I hadn’t even looked at the recipe. But I wanted to see what everyone else had made, so around 5:00 this evening, I logged into the FFwD website to look at everyone’s posts. I kept seeing words like “easy”, “quick”, “only four ingredients”, and, most importantly “delicious”. I decided I’d better check out the recipe for myself.

Like some of the other Doristas, when I saw “tartine” in the title, I mistakenly assumed it was some kind of cake or layered dessert, which is why I had decided to sit this one out. So I was surprised to look at the recipe and note that it was really an open-faced sandwich of sorts. And a super simple one at that.

Baguette, goat cheese, strawberries, black pepper, and an optional drizzle of balsamic vinegar. Based on the short list of ingredients, the obvious ease with which it could be thrown together, and the rave reviews it was receiving from everyone, I decided to go ahead and make this recipe. I had to run to the store for the baguette (I ended up getting a loaf of French bread, as that was the closest thing they had), so I figured I probably wouldn’t get around to making it in time to post for this week’s FFwD roundup. And it was too late to think about writing a blog post anyway; but I wanted to try the tartine.

It was a lovely evening here, so we ended up lighting a campfire and sitting outside for a few hours after dinner. When we came in around 10:00, I noticed that the goat cheese was sitting out on the counter. I went to put it away, and saw the Mission Fig Balsamic Vinegar from Olive My Heart that I had reduced into a thick, gooey syrup following my balsamic reduction recipe. Before I knew it, I was firing up the broiler to toast the French bread and looking for a nice plate on which to assemble everything.

Less than five minutes later, I had these:

Stawberries and Goat Cheese

These were definitely worth making, even at 10:00 at night. I think Mom put it best when she said, “These taste better than they look, and they look amazing!”

So, with just over an hour to spare in my time zone, here’s this week’s post. I think I’ll look at next week’s recipe tomorrow and maybe make it this weekend.

20 Comments

  1. Alice said,

    June 17, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    LOL :) well I’m glad this one pleased! It was certainly worth it in my book!

  2. June 13, 2013 at 6:18 am

    They do look great! I did same as you, I was going to skip it and then decided to make it last minute. So worth it!!!

  3. Kayte said,

    June 10, 2013 at 5:31 pm

    Mom’s right, they look amazing! And I can almost taste them from that photo…almost. On the menu…I’m certain they would make good ballgame watching food around here. ;-)

  4. Lola said,

    June 10, 2013 at 8:45 am

    I envy you your fig balsamic! Don’t you love beautiful evenings where you can sit around a fire?

  5. triciaandnana said,

    June 9, 2013 at 11:33 am

    Thanks for including that website and the suggestion of a reduction – have not tried to make one at home and if this week’s recipe wasn’t inspiration, I don’t know what is. Gosh, this was lovely, no ? I ended up making it pretty late myself on Thursday night and my family stood around the kitchen island noshing on it- we loved it ! Tricia

  6. June 9, 2013 at 5:44 am

    Easy and delicious are the magic words for me too. So happy you decided to join in, this one was too special to miss.

  7. June 9, 2013 at 3:36 am

    Beautiful ripe strawberry slices on top of your wonderful tartines – so nice that everyone seemed to have enjoyed this simple recipe so very much! Mission fig balsamic vinegar reduction sounds delicious too!
    Have a good Sunday!

  8. Patty said,

    June 8, 2013 at 5:33 pm

    Beautiful job on your tartines ;-) I love fig balsamic and will have to give that a try next time I make these and there will be a next time because they are fantastic ;-)

  9. Cher said,

    June 8, 2013 at 11:32 am

    Yes – this one was worth making no matter what time of day or night! I really love all the balsamic iterations that are available these days. They seem to make almost any dish just a a little more special.

    • gaaarp said,

      June 8, 2013 at 11:52 am

      Olive My Heart has literally dozens of varieties of flavored balsamic. I go there just to taste them sometimes.

  10. trevorsisboom said,

    June 8, 2013 at 10:33 am

    I like the drizzle of reduction on these. I used just vinegar from the bottle ’cause I’ve been putting off making reduction but you are right…it is good to have on hand for just about everything.

    • gaaarp said,

      June 8, 2013 at 11:51 am

      When I have a reduction around, I find a lot of uses for it!

  11. June 8, 2013 at 8:08 am

    These really were wonderful! A perfect evening snack. I made one for breakfast this morning. I love flavored balsamic vinegars…I also have a fig. Next time I use the fig. Glad you got this done and enjoyed it!

    • gaaarp said,

      June 8, 2013 at 8:59 am

      Delicious and simple! I’m having it for breakfast, too!

  12. sara said,

    June 8, 2013 at 4:05 am

    Lovely! This looks super tasty. :)

  13. June 7, 2013 at 11:43 pm

    This was truly great wasn’t it? I’m glad you decided to make a quick dash to the store and made it. And yes your mother is absolutely right, they do taste better than they look (and they look stunning!)

    • gaaarp said,

      June 8, 2013 at 8:58 am

      Thanks! I’m thinking of having them again for breakfast this morning.

  14. Teresa said,

    June 7, 2013 at 11:36 pm

    This was well worth running out to the store for bread, wasn’t it? I didn’t use a balsamic reduction, but I might next time, because it looks even prettier.

    • gaaarp said,

      June 7, 2013 at 11:41 pm

      Thanks. It is really good. I use it on everything from fruit to salads to ice cream.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

