Salad Niçoise {FFwD}

This week’s French Fridays with Dorie recipe was a perfectly simple, perfectly composed, and perfectly delicious salad.

Salad Nicoise

See, what did I tell you? Perfect.

This salad featured Bibb lettuce, parsley, boiled potatoes, hard-cooked eggs, steamed green beans, tuna, tomatoes, capers, Niçoise olives, homemade vinaigrette, and, the star of the show, anchovies. Although there were quite a few ingredients, and the potatoes, beans, and eggs had to be prepared ahead, the salad came together very quickly with minimal fuss and almost no clean up.

It might not surprise you to learn that we served this for lunch while the kids were away at school. We all really enjoyed this salad. It was pungent, salty, and quite filling, in that wonderful, salad-full sort of way.

Another keeper from Dorie to start out year four of French Fridays.

16 Comments

  1. Cher said,

    October 6, 2013 at 8:58 am

    Welcome back – looks good! This salad was definitely a meal all in itself.

  2. October 5, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    “In that wonderful, salad-full sort of way”

    I know exactly what you mean and couldn’t have said it better myself!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 5, 2013 at 8:14 pm

      Thanks! I love that full feeling from eating stuff that’s good and good for you.

  3. teaandscones said,

    October 5, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    Yours looks lovely and very tasty. All the good elements are there!
    Hope you are BACK!!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 5, 2013 at 8:13 pm

      Thanks, Margaret. I’m not feeling the drive to blog that I did in the past, but I’m at least liking the idea of diving back into FFwD on a semi-regular basis.

  4. Alice said,

    October 5, 2013 at 2:06 am

    I hope we see more of you this year! :) I love how many anchovies you used! We split up what came in our can, saving just a couple for leftovers and enjoyed every bite!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 5, 2013 at 8:11 pm

      I didn’t use all the anchovies, as I needed a few for the boeuf a la mode, which I made for dinner that same day.

      You should see me for at least this month. I’ve already made 2 of the recipes, and I have the ingredients for the others.

      • Alice said,

        October 6, 2013 at 2:31 am

        I’m glad you mentioned that! I have a few left and now I will know to save them for the Boeuf! :)

        How exciting to have you back!

  5. betsy said,

    October 4, 2013 at 9:53 pm

    Glad to see you kicking off another year. This salad is definitely a keeper. What a perfect lunch.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 4, 2013 at 11:10 pm

      I would gladly serve this for company. What a great salad!

  6. October 4, 2013 at 9:28 pm

    Glad you enjoyed it. To me the potatoes made it a complete and filling meal.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 4, 2013 at 11:09 pm

      I agree. I was full until dinnertime after eating this salad.

  7. October 4, 2013 at 5:32 pm

    Welcome back for Year 4!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 4, 2013 at 5:51 pm

      Thanks. If it’s anything like years 1-3, I’ll be getting welcomed back pretty often.

  8. Guyla said,

    October 4, 2013 at 5:05 pm

    Beautiful salad! I have to admit to leaving off the anchovies by choice and the olives by accident! Nice to have you back!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 4, 2013 at 5:13 pm

      Thanks. It was really good. We ate the leftovers with dinner. It was definitely enough for more than four people, though.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 121 other followers

