Let the Games Begin!

So, I guess when I signed up for the Bread Bakers Apprentice Challenge (“BBA Challenge”), it was inevitable that I would start a blog, too.  After all, everyone else has one.

For those of you who may have stumbled on this blog and who don’t know about the BBA Challenge, it is a group of 200 home bakers from around the world who have joined together with one simple goal:  to bake every recipe in Peter Reinhart’s The Bread Baker’s Apprentice.  We bake on our own, then write about our experiences in e-mails, on Twitter, on our Facebook group, and, of course, on our blogs.

I’ll admit I’ve wanted to start a blog for some time, but I needed a push to make me want to climb the learning curve.  The BBA Challenge has provided that push.  Fortunately, I have a lot of baking experience, so I can spend my time figuring out this whole blogging thing.

I will post my baking results for the BBA Challenge here, but this won’t strictly be a BBA Challenge, or even just a baking blog.  I chose the name “Of Cabbages and King Cake” as an homage to three of my favorite pursuits:  reading, baking, and cooking.  So, you’ll likely see a mix of those and other topics here.

So welcome.  I hope we enjoy the ride.

11 Comments

  1. foodietots said,

    May 20, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    Love the name. Welcome to the blog world, and thank you so much for all the helpful advice you’ve been sharing in the BBA group!

  2. saltandserenity said,

    May 19, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    Hi Phyl,

    Beautiful blog. I also set up my new blog last night on WordPress but I struggled a bit with the formatting. I’m not very tech saavy.

    Cindy

  3. sara said,

    May 19, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    Hi and welcome to blogging! 😀 I’m in the BBA group too and I look forward to baking along with everyone. 🙂

  4. Libby said,

    May 19, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    Hi Phyl, and welcome to blogging. Your title intrigues me, Cabbage and King Cakes. I have much fondness for the King Cake. Didn’t get a chance to make one this year. Happy baking, and much success in your new endeavor.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 20, 2009 at 7:19 pm

      Libby, thanks. I wanted a title that would reflect my triple interests: literature, cooking and baking. I think I may have hit on it with this one.

      I made King Cake for the first time this year, and it was a big hit. It even passed muster with my friend Kevin, a native New Orleanian.

  5. Rebeca said,

    May 19, 2009 at 11:20 am

    Welcome to Bloggersville!

  6. Di said,

    May 19, 2009 at 7:11 am

    Welcome to the blogging world! =) I can’t wait to hear & see more about your bread.

  7. Görel said,

    May 19, 2009 at 4:51 am

    Hello there, congrats to a good looking blog! I’m looking forward to see all the BBA recipes accounted for here.

  8. Paul said,

    May 19, 2009 at 2:49 am

    Hey congrats Phyl, and welcome to the Bloggers Club! Hope to see tons of cool stuff on here! (And TFL and Facebook and BBAC and…)

    Say, you do have your plate full, doncha?

  9. AJM said,

    May 18, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    Welcome to the blogosphere! I look forward to reading your posts, so far you seem pretty good at this bread thing…we’ll just have to stay tuned to see for sure. I would also like to see tips on recreating the BBA cover pic:)

  10. Nicole said,

    May 18, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    So cool that you set up a blog!!


Leave a Reply

