N’Awlins Bread Pudding {Recipe}

I made Poor Man’s Brioche today (I’m holding off on the blog until brioche week).  It is a good bread, and I think it will make an excellent bread pudding.  With that in mind, here is my favorite bread pudding recipe, given to me by a friend of mine from New Orleans.  It is his mom’s recipe.

  • 1 loaf French bread, stale, torn into bits (or in my case, day-old brioche)
  • 1 quart milk (4 cups)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 6 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Soak bread in milk in large bowl for 20-30 minutes.
  3. Stir in sugar, raisins, and vanilla.
  4. Add eggs and mix lightly.
  5. Pour into buttered baking dish.  Place dish in baking pan.
  6. Place baking pan on middle oven rack, and carefully pour boiling water approximately 1/2-inch deep in baking pan.
  7. Bake 30-45 minutes.

Sauce

  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup bourbon
  • 1 egg, beaten
  1. Melt butter and sugar together over low heat, stirring constantly.
  2. Stir in bourbon.
  3. Whisk in egg.
  4. Heat slowly for a minute or two to thicken.
  5. Pour over bread pudding and serve.

This is  a true New Orleans bread pudding, guaranteed to please.  In fact, the last time I made it using my leftover Poor Man’s Brioche, I actually cried a little.  It’s that good.  My mom was visiting and showed up with a homemade pumpkin pie, my all-time favorite thing that she makes.  I didn’t touch it.  But I had seconds of Bread Pudding.

Bread Pudding

18 Comments

  1. May 10, 2013 at 3:28 pm

    I agree the other recipe you mentioned looked much better, but it had bourbon in it… I think liquor is definitely what was missing to make this more of a dessert.

  2. May 9, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    […] how did it taste? It was quite good. But not nearly as good as my N’awlins Bread Pudding. In fact, it tasted like one of my baked French toast recipes, which is fine, but not what I was […]

  3. March 13, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    […] no stranger to Emeril. I haven’t made many of his recipes, but my go-to King Cake and bread pudding are both based in large part on his recipes. So choosing an Emeril recipe for March was fine by […]

  4. Mary T Capone said,

    March 29, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    Are we permitted to print this recipe and if yes how do you do it with out all the comments? Thanks Mary

    • gaaarp said,

      March 29, 2010 at 5:32 pm

      Mary, you are welcome to print the recipe. Just select the text without the comments, copy it, and paste it into a Word document.

  5. May 27, 2009 at 12:14 am

    I usually bread pudding the failed breads. What a concept to bread pudding successful breads! 😀

    I’ve never made a sauce for bread pudding before. We don’t consume alcohol in any form – any suggestions on what we can substitute for the bourbon? Yes, I know that’s heresy for many of you… 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      May 27, 2009 at 8:05 pm

      If you want to do the sauce without the bourbon, I would try rum flavoring (if you could find bourbon flavoring, that would be even better).

      • Judy Hecht said,

        December 26, 2009 at 5:14 pm

        I’ve actually had great success adding lots of vanilla to sauces instead of the booze…a couple of teaspoons. Still yummy!

  6. May 25, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    […] made into French toast and bread pudding.  So I cut some thick slices for bread pudding (see the N’awlins Bread Pudding post) and some thinner slices, which I used to make some of the best French toast […]

  7. May 25, 2009 at 6:01 am

    Bourbon … of course it’ll be good!

  8. Görel said,

    May 25, 2009 at 1:27 am

    This sounds delicious! I made bread pudding from the Anadama, and it’s now a new favourite dessert, had never done it before. Artos would probably be even better. I’ll have to bake some more do I can try this out!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 25, 2009 at 8:43 am

      Perhaps we’ll have to have a Challenge within a Challenge to see which bread makes the best bread pudding!

  9. Nicole said,

    May 25, 2009 at 1:23 am

    Just realized that Paul has the same thing in mind…

  10. Nicole said,

    May 25, 2009 at 1:22 am

    Sounds SO delicious! I want to try making bread pudding from Artos, but I don’t have much left! Might have to use a combination of leftover Artos, sourdough and Anadama! 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      May 25, 2009 at 8:44 am

      Great minds think alike!

  11. Paul said,

    May 25, 2009 at 1:05 am

    I am just drooling… I have the last scraps of Artos and Anadama cut up and frozen, waiting for a good time to make bread pudding. I think this will be the recipe.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 25, 2009 at 8:42 am

      What a gread idea! Save up bits of bread and make a multi-bread pudding. Too bad my Artos and Anadama didn’t live to see the light of day.

      • Paul said,

        May 31, 2009 at 10:34 pm

        I just made this a few minutes ago. Used just half the ‘scraps” out of the freezer and made 1/4 of the recipe which gave two heaping helpings.

        Oh my oh my oh my but it’s tasty! And unlike some bread puddings, not too sweet. The Artos came through really nicely, didn’t really notice the Anadama though. No, there were no bagels. There are *never* leftover bagels.

        But DANG that was good!

        Thanks for passing that recipe around, tell your buddy thanks and tell him to tell his mom thanks.


Leave a Reply

