That Darned Anna — Anadama Bread

The BBA Challenge is what prompted me to start blogging, and yet here I sit waiting for my fourth recipe (Poor Man’s Brioche) to rise, and realizing I haven’t blogged on the first recipe.  Everyone else is pretty much done writing about it, so it seems redundant, but here goes:

The first recipe in the BBA Challenge was Anadama Bread, supposedly named after the curse a man leveled at his wife when she left him with nothing but flour, cornmeal and a little molasses, which he threw together in a bowl and mixed the first version of this bread.  I had made this bread before from a different recipe and liked it pretty well.  I had also tried PR’s version of it in BBA but wasn’t as thrilled with it.  It came out too crunchy for my liking.

So in baking this bread for the challenge, I did two things differently than before.  First, I used a hot soaker for the cornmeal to ensure that it didn’t have quite so much tooth to it.  And second, I omitted the sprinkle of raw cornmeal on the top of the dough before baking.  Both of these seemed to to the trick, as the bread came out delicious, with just a hint of crunch. 

I enjoyed this bread plain, toasted, with butter, pumpkin butter, Nutella, and clover, buckwheat, and avacado honeys.  I didn’t make it as far as French toast or bread pudding, as the loaves disappeared too quickly.

I will definitely make this bread again, using the hot soaker and leaving off the sprinkled cornmeal topping.

4 Comments

  1. November 11, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    […] warm, yeasty, and a bit like molasses. In fact, I would say the smell reminded me quite a lot of Anadama Bread, the first BBA Challenge bread. Even though the Struan loaf had honey and brown sugar in it, I […]

  2. Susie said,

    May 24, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    Yes, POLENTA is very crunchy. Love following your blog. Are we having fun yet?
    Susie

  3. Susie said,

    May 24, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    Sounds great. 🙂 I think if I make this again I will use ‘normal’ corn meal in the soaker and nothing on top. 🙂
    Susie

    • gaaarp said,

      May 24, 2009 at 4:04 pm

      I liked the crunch; but the first time it was just too crunchy. I actually did the hot soaker and then stuck it in the fridge for about two or three days. I was amazed that it still had some crunch to it.


Leave a Reply

