Recipe — Peach Iced Tea

Have you noticed recently that a lot of restaurants and fast food joints have started to carry flavored iced teas? Ever wonder how they brew so many flavors? I’ve done some nosing around and have discovered that most of them start with regular iced tea and add flavored syrups.

Which got me to thinking: why not make my own flavored syrup? My kitchen is overrun with fresh produce at the moment, so I decided to make some peach simple syrup to use in peach iced tea.

The ingredients are simple and few:

  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 3 medium peaches

First, measure the sugar and water into a medium sized saucepan.

Sugar & Water

Put the saucepan on the stove over medium-high heat. Stir occasionally until it comes to the boil. While the mixture is heating, peel the peaches, cut them into chunks, and place them in a medium sized bowl.

Making Simple Syrup

Allow the mixture to come to a boil, then boil for about 30 seconds to a minute. When you remove it from the heat, the syrup should be clear.

Symple Syrup - After Boiling

As soon as the syrup is ready, and while it is still very hot, pour it over the peaches in the bowl.

Soaking Peaches in Syrup

Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and allow the peaches to steep for 30 minutes. Drain the syrup through a fine strainer, and discard the peaches (or, if you’re a glutton like I am, eat them!).  

You’ll end up with about 1 1/2 cups of peach syrup, which will keep in the refrigerator for several weeks, and will make the best peach tea you’ve ever tasted.

Green Peach Iced Tea

8 Comments

  1. April 13, 2013 at 7:07 am

    […] Fresh Peach Iced tea (recipe adapted from Of Cabbages & King Cakes) […]

  2. August 10, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    I tried making your peach iced tea. The smooth taste is a revelation! I ended up adding 4 tablespoons of syrup per cup of tea.
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/08/11/fresh-peach-iced-tea/

  3. August 10, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    […] Fresh Peach Iced tea (recipe by Of Cabbages & King Cakes) […]

  4. August 9, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    How much of the syrup would you add to 2 quarts of tea?

    • gaaarp said,

      August 9, 2010 at 5:42 pm

      Michael, I would start with 1/2 cup (or maybe even 1/4, if you don’t want it too sweet). Stir it in and taste it, then add a bit more if you want it sweeter or more peachy.

  5. Nicole said,

    August 23, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    This looks great! I’ll have to make this for my husband when he gets back…he really likes sweet tea!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 23, 2009 at 3:34 pm

      Thanks, Nicole. I’m working on a mint-lime one now. I’ll probably post it when I get the proportions worked out to my liking.

  6. August 23, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    I love peach tea. Wish I thought of making it when peaches were in season here.


Leave a Reply

