Swedish Limpa – Bork, Bork!

Thees veek in Phyl’s keetchee, ve-a mede-a zee Svedeesh Leempa.

I wasn’t sure how I felt about this bread. Don’t get me wrong. I’m a big fan of rye. And I have so far enjoyed the BBA recipes that called for citrus oils and spices. I just didn’t know how it would be to combine them all into one bread. I’m glad to report that I was pleasantly surprised.

One of the things that makes this bread different from some of the other BBA breads is that you make it using a sponge. To make the sponge, I boiled water, molasses, orange oil, and ground aniseed, cardamom, and fennel seeds. This mixture smelled so good when it heated up. It had a strong citrus scent, and the spices gave it an exotic aroma that reminded me of my favorite Indian restaurant.

After it came to a boil, I removed the spice mixture from the stove and let it cool to room temperature. Then I mixed it with sourdough starter and rye flour.

I let the sponge ferment for about 5 hours, then refrigerated it overnight. The next day, I brought the sponge to room temperature, then mixed it with bread flour, yeast, and olive oil to make the dough. The recipe said to add up to 4 ounces of water to get the correct consistency, but I ended up using less than an ounce of water.

The dough smelled great and had a nice feel to it. It rose beautifully, too. After fermenting the dough for 2 hours, I shaped it into a loaf and put it in a 9×5 pan. I scored the loaf, misted it with spray oil, and let it proof for about an hour and a half.  I baked the loaf at 350 dF for about 45 minutes, until the internal temperature reached 190 degrees.

As I mentioned, I wasn’t sure how well I would like this bread. But I needn’t have worried: it was amazing. It’s a really interesting take on rye bread. The spices give it a lot more flavor and complexity, but it doesn’t taste like panettone or a spiced quick bread, which is what I was worried about. This is a great sandwich bread, and is also really good toasted with marmalade or jelly.

So, what are you waiting for? 

Gu beke-a sume-a Leempa!

14 Comments

  1. September 11, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    […] know reviews have been mixed with certain other BBA Challenge participants:  Phyl and Anne Marie  are fans, Andrea not so much, and Daniel’s oven sabotaged his efforts.    […]

  2. ap269 said,

    February 19, 2010 at 7:58 am

    The loaf looks good. I didn’t really like mine, though. And I already had left out the licorice because I truly hate licorice!!!

  3. February 18, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    […] baking” and “it was a delicious bread”, Oggi “loves this bread”, gaaarp says “it was amazing” & Anne Marie said “it was delicious” even though […]

  4. Cindy said,

    January 19, 2010 at 10:11 am

    I love the Swedish Chef!! Thanks for transporting me back to a happy memory. I’m envious of your scoring. It looks wonderful. I am a bit sceptical about all those flavours together, but now with the Swedish Chef’s endorsement, I’ll give it a try!

    • gaaarp said,

      January 19, 2010 at 6:36 pm

      Cindy, it brought back memories for me, too. In fact, after I wrote the blog, I ordered the first 2 DVDs of The Muppet Show on Netflix.

      Scoring takes practice and guts. A friend of mine refers to “mental mise en place” when scoring — the idea of envisioning your slashes and tracing them once or twice in the air before you actually take knife to bread. And speaking of knives, I’ve tried them all: razor blades, lames, bread knives. I’ve found that I have the best, most consistent success with a simple, serrated knife (like a steak knife). Whatever you use, slash with confidence!

  5. AnneMarie said,

    January 16, 2010 at 8:01 am

    I was reading through my remaining breads and was wondering how this would taste. I’m so glad that you liked it.

  6. misterrios said,

    January 15, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    I seriously cannot wait for this bread. The spice mix sound incredible. I just hope my bread looks as great as yours!

  7. Görel said,

    January 15, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Hehe, I think this is what’s needed to bring me back to the BBA challenge! I have been SO out of the loop for some time now, I blame it on my moving house and other things, but this one — of course I’ll have to try. I mean, I know what it should taste like!

    “I’ll be back …”

  8. sallybr said,

    January 15, 2010 at 10:00 am

    I am so glad you made it before me…

    I just looked at the recipe (intend to make it tomorrow), and simply could NOT get excited about it.

    Now I feel better, with your endorsement…. (fingers crossed)

    • gaaarp said,

      January 15, 2010 at 5:39 pm

      Thanks, I really liked it. In fact, I had some more yesterday (about 5 days after I made it), and it was even better than when it first came out of the oven.

  9. jennet said,

    January 14, 2010 at 7:08 am

    I am so far behind on baking bread (I just finished Lavash crackers) but reading stuff like this makes me sooo look forward to the rest of the book! Great post!!! The descriptions had my mouth watering!

    • gaaarp said,

      January 14, 2010 at 10:13 am

      Thanks. It really is delicious. Of course, I loved the Lavash crackers, too.

  10. January 14, 2010 at 6:56 am

    Mmmmm… the combination of spices in this bread sounds wonderful! I can’t wait to try this one!

    • gaaarp said,

      January 14, 2010 at 10:12 am

      Cathy, I hope you enjoy this one as much as I did. It is definitely on my make again list.


Leave a Reply

