Real Welsh Scones — The Modern Baker Challenge

The eighth recipe in the Modern Baker Challenge is Real Welsh Scones. This was a wonderfully simple recipe, and even a sleepyhead like me found it easy to mix these up for breakfast on a Sunday morning.

First, I placed all the dry ingredients in the food processor and added cold butter.

I pulsed the mixture about eight to 10 times, until it resembled a fine powder.

After beating the egg and milk together, I added them to the dry mixture in a bowl and stirred it all together.

I kneaded the dough a few times to incorporate all the flour and mix in the butter pieces. The dough was a little crumbly but held together OK as I divided it into two pieces, patted them into rounds, and scored them with a dough scraper.

I baked the scones in for 12 minutes, the minimum time recommended by the recipe. When I took them out, they looked like this:

I cut into one and found it to be a bit underdone. The scones were nicely browned, and I was worried that if I continued to bake them, they would get overdone on the outside. Since I had already turned off the oven, I put the scones back in and baked them using the residual heat. This is a technique known as baking in a “reducing oven”. Often this is done by preheating the oven to a high temperature, say 500 degrees, then reducing the temperature to 450 or so when you put the bread in the oven. In my case, the oven was turned off, and I baked the scones  for about five more minutes, at which point they were perfectly baked.

The finished scones were delicious. They had a slight sweetness from the sugar, and they were perfect with a little marmalade and a cup of coffee.

This is yet another great recipe from The Modern Baker. I know that all cookbooks have some recipes that are better than others, and even the best of them have a few recipes that not everyone will like. But so far, I have loved everything I’ve made from this book. And so have my family and friends.

8 Comments

  1. May 13, 2010 at 11:37 am

    […] with Real Welsh Scones, Ginger Scones with Almond Topping, and Butterscotch Scones, the dough is mixed up quickly in the […]

  2. Margaret said,

    May 10, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    The perfect scone is always made by wedging a circle of dough. Perfect. Bet they were good.

  3. Abby said,

    May 8, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    Just made these and love, love, loved them! My favorite recipe so far!

  4. May 5, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    […] (the official blogger for this bread), Karen (the 2nd third of the Three Clever Sisters), Phyl, Petra Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)The Modern Baker Challenge: Quick Breads […]

  5. petra said,

    April 27, 2010 at 3:33 am

    You took the words right out of my mouth (oh, no now I need to find the Bat out of Hell CD) I too have loved each and every recipe I have made from this book so far. That has never ever happened before and we are just at the start of the book. If this book turns out to be a 50/50 I am so gonna look into his other book. Your scones remind me of flowers. It’s spring and it’s so fitting and my tulips are starting to bloom so spring is on my mind and flowers is what I see. I will be making them soon and it wll be the first time for me not just to make scones but to taste one too.

  6. Renee said,

    April 26, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    Wow! They look delicious! I have some homemade raspberry jam from last year that is just begging to be tried with them. I hope to give them a try in a week or so.

  7. ap269 said,

    April 26, 2010 at 11:22 am

    I agree, they are perfect with a little jam! Your post reminds me of making them again, the kids will be so happy!

  8. Kayte said,

    April 26, 2010 at 8:28 am

    Can’t wait to get to these! I love the shape and color yours turned out. The shape is fun with them all joined together like that from the scoring. I don’t think I have seen that before in a scone…it looks very inviting. Making the 4th bread today, off my Sat schedule as my mom’s sister died over the weekend, and for the past week we have been trying to move toward accepting that, etc. It will be nice today to bake something, she was a great baker, and remember all the fun times I had with her over the years. Your scones look wonderful!


Leave a Reply

