Ginger Scones with Almond Topping {ModBak}

Ginger Scones with Almond Topping is another simple and delicious recipe from the Quick Breads section of The Modern Baker by Nick Malgieri. These scones came together quickly and baked up in only 15 minutes.

The only ingredient that I didn’t already have in the cupboard was crystallized ginger. Nick warns against using grocery store ginger, as it tends to be dry and hard, whereas good candied ginger should be moist and tender. I was going to order ginger from King Arthur Flour, as their crystallized ginger receives rave reviews. However, I didn’t have anything else that I needed to order, and I didn’t want to wait for a shipment to get the ginger.

So, I went to the grocery store to buy candied ginger from the baking section. Sure, it was dry and rattled around in the jar. But I was impatient, so I bought it anyway. When I got home, I realized that the jar of crystallized ginger contained only two ounces, whereas the recipe called for four ounces. Again lacking in patience, I decided to forge ahead with what I had. I adjusted the recipe by adding just a bit more ground ginger.

As noted, the recipe came together quickly. I put the dry ingredients in the food processor, pulsed them a few times, added the cold butter, and pulsed again to mix everything together. Then I added the crystallized ginger, milk, and eggs and pulsed until the dough came together.

I dumped the dough out onto a Silpat, kneaded it a few times, then divided it into three pieces. After pressing each piece of dough into a disk, I cut each one into six wedges with a dough scraper. I placed the scones on a baking sheet, and topped each wedge with a mixture of egg white, almonds, cinnamon, and sugar.

I baked the scones at 400° F for about 15 minutes, until they were golden brown and firm to the touch.

Fortunately, Nick recommends eating these scones hot from the oven, because there is no chance I was going to let them cool. They were sweet, but not overpoweringly so, and were wonderful both plain and with a little smear of butter.

13 Comments

  1. gaaarp said,

    June 6, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    I made these again tonight, this time with the right kind and amount of crystallized ginger. What a difference! Much more flavorful. I also used palm sugar in the almond topping. It gave the topping a lot more depth of flavor.

  2. May 15, 2010 at 9:58 am

    […] Baker is that the breads really are quick. For example, in the 15 minutes it took to bake the ginger scones, I mixed up the butterscotch scones and had them ready to go into the oven as soon as the ginger […]

  3. May 13, 2010 at 11:38 am

    […] with Real Welsh Scones, Ginger Scones with Almond Topping, and Butterscotch Scones, the dough is mixed up quickly in the food processor. The milk chocolate, […]

  4. petra said,

    May 12, 2010 at 2:59 am

    Yum, I am looking forward to making them. I can quite identify with your impatient streak. I have one of those too. Glad it turned out because with food the rule “use the best you can afford” usually does create the best results.

  5. May 10, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    […] mixed up these scones while the Ginger Scones were baking. It took almost exactly as long to prepare these scones as it did to bake the ginger […]

  6. Renee said,

    May 9, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    Wow! These look fabulous. I’ll remember the “straight out of the oven” recommendation. One of these days when I’m feeling a little blue, I’ll get this one together. I too bought some crystallized ginger from the store only to realize I don’t have enough. I might just forge ahead without the extra since yours didn’t seem to be lacking.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 9, 2010 at 3:49 pm

      They were really delicious. I’ll order KA’s crystallized ginger with my next order and try them with the “right stuff” to see how they compare.

  7. Abby said,

    May 9, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Yum! Can’t wait to try these . . . especially straight out of the oven! =)

  8. Görel said,

    May 9, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Yum! I love ginger, so I have to try these! I’m already behind in this challenge …

    It’s rather easy to make your own crystallized or candied ginger, so next time you’re out of it yoy might want to try! E.g. http://tinyurl.com/5khgxt or http://tinyurl.com/37zcr85. And the leftover syrup you get is soooo good.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 9, 2010 at 3:04 pm

      Thanks for the links, Gorel. It’s good to know I can make my own crystallized ginger.

    • petra said,

      May 13, 2010 at 4:07 am

      I agree with you, so easy to do. I made some yesterday suing David’s recipe. It turned out perfect. Much better than any store bought one.

  9. Anne Marie said,

    May 9, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    I was thrilled to see the straight out of the oven recommendations.

  10. Kayte said,

    May 9, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    These look wonderful! I am a big advocate of eating things straight from the oven as well (don’t tell Nick, okay?). Scones are just so delightful warm, with melty things on it. Can’t wait to get to this recipe. I have been able to soften store c.ginger by putting a slice of apple or a piece of bread into the container with it overnight. It helps some. Happy Mother’s Day to J!


Leave a Reply

