Butterscotch Scones {ModBak}

The 10th recipe (out of 15) in the Quick Bread section of The Modern Baker is Butterscotch Scones.  

  

I mixed up these scones while the Ginger Scones were baking. It took almost exactly as long to prepare these scones as it did to bake the ginger ones.  

First, I mixed the dry ingredients in the food processor.

Then, I added the butter and pulsed to mix.

Finally, I added the eggs and milk.

After the final mix in the food processor, I turned the dough out onto a Silpat, kneaded it four or five times, then divided the dough into three pieces. I patted each piece into a round, then divided the rounds into four wedges.  

  

I baked the scones for 15 minutes, until they were well-browned.  

  

As with the ginger scones, I ate these scones fresh from the oven. I wasn’t exactly disappointed with the taste, but compared to the ginger scones, they weren’t quite as flavorful. As I reread the recipe while preparing this post, I realized that I had used unsalted butter, which may explain why the scones seemed to be lacking in flavor.  

Even with unsalted butter, however, they were worth baking (and eating). I will make these scones again, with salted butter next time, to see how they taste when they are made correctly.

Updated 5/26/2010:  I baked these again tonight, this time using salted butter. I could tell even before I baked them that these would have a true butterscotch flavor. And they did not disappoint. If they were good before, this time they are excellent. Every bit as good as the ginger scones, which I absolutely loved.

10 Comments

  1. misterrios said,

    July 19, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    Very nice looking scones! I used butterscotch chips to up the ante, thanks to everyone in the group and to my girlfriend for actually bringing them over from the States.

  2. June 24, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    These look terrific. I love the color of the scones. Mine were much paler. I completely forgot to blog it and I am finishing it up now but I don’t remember the details.

    http://sweetsav.blogspot.com/2010/06/gluten-free-butterscotch-scones.html

  3. May 15, 2010 at 9:58 am

    […] are quick. For example, in the 15 minutes it took to bake the ginger scones, I mixed up the butterscotch scones and had them ready to go into the oven as soon as the ginger scones came […]

  4. ap269 said,

    May 11, 2010 at 7:21 am

    I added butterscotch chips to the dough, so I can’t really say how they flavor would have been without them, but I think they would have been a little bland. Yours look great – and yes, try the salted butter version next time ;o).

  5. Renee said,

    May 10, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    I am so excited to try these! I’m bummed they weren’t super flavorful. I never buy salted butter- maybe I’ll just do a little salt guessing when I make them.

  6. Margaret said,

    May 10, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    LOVE scones and always looking for new ones. Both these and the ginger look/sound great.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 10, 2010 at 7:59 pm

      Thanks, Margaret. The ginger ones were outstanding. These were good but probably would have been great had I read the recipe right. I’m going to redo them with salted butter and see what happens.

  7. Kayte said,

    May 10, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    First of all, they look great! Second of all, thanks for the heads up on the butter as that is just the sort of thing I would have overlooked. Thirdly, I am on Week 6 (baking in order), we have been at this 6 weeks, and how is it that you have 10 done already????? I am going to have to step it up a bit b/c you ALL are going to be finished before me and I thought I was doing good getting one done a week. I need to double up a couple of weeks anyway, I think, to do this before the end of June. It all looks great…looking forward to this recipe a lot. Not many recipes have butterscotch.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 10, 2010 at 2:21 pm

      Kayte, you are not behind at all. I’ve just been baking like a madman. Must be my sweet tooth. Don’t worry — we’re sticking with the end of June before we move on, so we’ll all be at the same place come July.


Leave a Reply

