Triple Chocolate Scones {ModBak}

This is the 11th recipe, and the last of the scones, in the Modern Baker Challenge.

As the name indicates, these scones are loaded with chocolate. They have Dutch process cocoa, milk chocolate, and bittersweet chocolate. The three combine to make these scones rich and deeply flavored. Surprisingly, though, they are not overly sweet.

As with Real Welsh Scones, Ginger Scones with Almond Topping, and Butterscotch Scones, the dough is mixed up quickly in the food processor. The milk chocolate, sugar, and cocoa are pulsed a few times, then the flour, baking powder, and salt are added, and the mixture is pulsed again before adding the butter and pulsing until it resembles coarse corn meal. Finally, the bittersweet chocolate, egg, and milk are added and pulsed a few more times.

I finished kneading the dough on a Silpat, divided it into three pieces, and formed each piece into a sphere. I cut each sphere into four wedges and placed the wedges on a baking sheet. Although the recipe didn’t call for it, I sprinkled each scone with turbinado sugar, both for a little additional sweetness and for appearance.

The scones were baked at 400° F for about 17 minutes.

They were moist, gooey, very chocolately (of course), rich, and delicious. These scones just barely edged out the ginger scones as my favorite scones in the book. In fact, they rank near the top of my list in the whole Quick Breads section.

If you’ve been thinking of giving The Modern Baker (the book and/or the Challenge) a try, start with this recipe. It will make a believer out of you.

8 Comments

  1. ap269 said,

    May 14, 2010 at 7:04 am

    Can’t wait to make them because everyone in my house is a chocoholic! What is turbinado sugar? The name sounds really funny!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 14, 2010 at 7:09 am

      It’s sometimes called “Sugar in the Raw” — basically, it’s sugar cane juice that is spun in a centrifuge (or turbine, hence the name) to remove moisture and molasses, leaving large, tan sugar crystals.

  2. Abby said,

    May 13, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    Oh, I wish I would’ve thought of turbinado sugar for the tops! I will definitely be trying that next time. We loved these with vanilla ice cream!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 13, 2010 at 8:54 pm

      I’ve had some sprinkling sugar sitting around since my last King Arthur order, but when I went to make these I couldn’t find it. So, I used turbinado.

  3. Renee said,

    May 13, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    I agree! These are definitely one of my favorites of the quick breads. Yours did turn out darker than mine. I wonder where that difference comes from. I think we’ll all be enjoying these scones for years to come.

  4. Margaret said,

    May 13, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    UUMMM!!!! Scones UUUUmmmmmUUUU:MMMM Chocolate Scones!!!

  5. Kayte said,

    May 13, 2010 at 11:59 am

    The guys are going to love these from all accounts! You make them sound so delicious and they look wonderful…okay, for those who like chocolate they look wonderful, I won’t lie to you…they look like mud pies to me, but then everything chocolate looks like that to me. I WILL make these because the guys live for just such days! Nice post.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 13, 2010 at 6:35 pm

      You’re right — they will love them!

      I think my dough was a bit too wet. The scones didn’t hold their shape too well. Next time, I’ll add a bit more flour if they don’t shape up.


Leave a Reply

