It’s All Happening at the Zoo

A few weeks ago, my daughter’s Kindergarten class had a field trip to the Akron Zoo. I hadn’t originally planned on going, but her drop off and pick up times were such that it was easier for me just to take her to school in the morning, meet the group at the zoo, and bring her home with me at the end of the field trip.

I love kids, and A. is at a great age. Full of energy and curiosity. But you can have too much of a good thing. And the fact that the entire zoo was going to be overrun by kindergarteners had me wondering what I had gotten myself into.

The kids were divided into groups of five, and parent volunteers were assigned to each group. As it happened, each child in our group had a parent along on the trip, so we were one-on-one and each responsible primarily for our own child. This was a good thing for me. I am watchful and alert with my own children; when I’m responsible for other peoples’ kids, I’m an absolute mess. I become hyper-vigilant and worry that a child will get hurt or lost on my watch. So I was glad to have the other parents there so that I could enjoy the day.

The weather was perfect, and the kids all had a great time. A’s group was especially well matched. I hadn’t met the kids before, but I knew their names from hearing A. talk about them at home all the time. They all got along well, and they seemed to like being together.

With my work schedule, I am not able to get to many school events during the day. But I’m glad I took the time off for the zoo trip.

Even if there were more animals out of the cages than in them.

5 Comments

  1. Jennifer Z. said,

    June 14, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    What fun! I love their tye dye shirts…very neat. My daughter had 1 field trip this year during kindergarten but I wasn’t able to attend. Made it to all her in school events though. Kindergarten is such a great age! Thanks for sharing the pic’s and blog.

  2. Julie said,

    June 14, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    What a fun day! I remember those back when my son was small. Enjoy these times, they go way too fast. Mine’s 30 now! 🙂

    Love their tye dye t shirts, so cute.

  3. sallybr said,

    June 14, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    Loved their t-shirts!!!!

    nice post….

  4. Kayte said,

    June 14, 2010 at 11:58 am

    How fun! I’m like you…I’m good with my own kids, but hand me someone else’s baby and I absolutely freeze and hope they take it back real soon before I drop it or break it or something. That scene in Baby Boon where Diane Keaton holds the baby out from her with her little feet dangling in the air where she tries to give her to someone else in the beginning…that would be me. With my own kids, I was fine, but with other ones…not so much. What vibrant wonderful pictures you have of this trip…am sure your daughter was so happy that you went along!

    • gaaarp said,

      June 14, 2010 at 12:07 pm

      We had a great time. As you can see, they all made tye-died shirts to take along. It made for great pictures, but dang if they didn’t all look alike. Picture scanning a hundred kids in the same clothes and trying to pick out the ones in your group!

      When my older daughter was little, we would watch other people’s kids from time to time. It seemed like whenever we took them to a restaurant with a play place, one of the kids would get up in the top and then get scared. And there I would go — all 6’1″ of me — climbing through these tubes to rescue someone else’s kid.


Leave a Reply

