Crisp Cornmeal Flatbread {ModBak}

The fifth recipe in the Breads section of The Modern Baker, and the last in a series of flatbreads, is Crisp Cornmeal Flatbread. This bread is actually what I would consider a cracker rather than a flatbread. When I think of flatbread, I think of pita bread, naan, tortillas, and the like. But that was OK with me, because I was a little flatbreaded out at this point.

I was looking forward to these crackers, as they had some interesting ingredients that I thought would lead to great flavor. One of the ingredients was cornmeal. As it happened, I had just visited the farmer’s market and picked up some red cornmeal, so I decided to use it in this recipe.

The other ingredient that we haven’t seen thus far in the book was cayenne pepper. And even though the recipe only called for 1/4 teaspoon, I knew a little would go a long way, especially in crackers.

I began by mixing the ingredients in the food processor, then setting the dough aside to rise.

After the dough had risen, I divided it into two piece, which I then rolled out to make the crackers. The directions say to roll the dough to the size of the pan on the work surface, then transfer it to the pan. I decided to bake my crackers on Silpat, so I rolled each half on the Silpat, then lifted it onto the pan.

I rolled the dough out to the edges of the Silpat, then trimmed the overlapping bits.

I was left with a very thin dough that almost completely covered the baking surface.

I baked the flatbreads in a 350° F oven for about 20 minutes, until they were golden brown and crisp.

They came out beautifully. The cornmeal gave a nice color and nutty flavor, and the crackers were crunchy with just a bit of heat from the cayenne. And talk about flat….

I broke the bread into irregular pieces and put them in a bowl. It looked great; unfortunately, we ate them all before I had a chance to take a picture.

This recipe is right up there with the pita bread as my favorite of the flatbreads. Definitely one to make again.

7 Comments

  1. Renee said,

    August 5, 2010 at 12:07 am

    What a great idea to use the silpat! I’m going to have to try that when I do these! I’m so behind in this section!! Glad they’re up there with pitas!

  2. Kayte said,

    August 3, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    I am chuckling (just a little) at how you carefully trimmed the edges and then broke it all into irregular shapes at the end. I figured you were going to make it all nice and even, etc. with that careful trimming and all. This looks wonderful and I am looking forward to this one…I can think of lots of variations to use in those crackers!

  3. Margaret said,

    August 3, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    Ground pop corn. Hunh!! How cool. The flat bread looks great. On of the breads I do have marked for this section.

  4. Heather said,

    August 3, 2010 at 10:38 am

    I was wondering about this recipe. Would it benefit from a sprinkling of sea salt? Or would that make it too salty?

    • gaaarp said,

      August 3, 2010 at 5:05 pm

      I think a sprinkling of salt would be perfect. I think the next time I make them, I will sprinkle with sea salt and maybe some seeds (a la BBA).

  5. Lynne said,

    August 3, 2010 at 8:15 am

    This looks great – just what I was looking for, too. We like to have a good supply of homemade hummus in the house, and this sounds like it would be great for dipping.

    I’m also amazed (shows just how far I really am from some of my food sources) that the whole grain cornmeal was made from popcorn. But then – why not?! Cool!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 3, 2010 at 8:26 am

      The farm stand where I bought the cornmeal is the only place I’ve seen it where they grind it from popcorn. I always buy it there and wonder, “Why don’t I just do this myself?” Oh, well. It’s more convenient to let someone else do it; and I’m supporting small, local businesses.


Leave a Reply

