Instant Sandwich Bread {ModBak}

The sixth recipe in the Breads section of the Modern Baker Challenge is Instant Sandwich Bread. Although I have to say it was unlike any sandwich bread I’ve ever made. It’s baked in a sheet pan, so you don’t slice it like a loaf of bread. Rather, you cut squares like you would a sheet cake, then split the squares laterally to use for sandwiches.

This is another bread recipe that is mixed in a food processor. I have a Cuisinart 11-cup food processor, which I believe is standard size for most home kitchens. There is a 14-cup model, but I don’t know anyone who has one in their kitchen. Except, apparently, Nick Malgieri.

As I began to mix the ingredients in the food processor, it seemed too full to me. But I pressed on. The dry ingredients were OK.

But when I added the water and yeast, and then turned on the machine, my problems began.

The liquid came shooting out of the top and bottom of the machine. But at this point, I was committed (or should have been), so I kept processing until the dough seemed well mixed. Moral of the story: unless you have a 14-cup food processor, I would recommend mixing this dough in your Kitchen Aid or by hand.

The dough didn’t seem to have suffered too much for the loss of water, so I turned it out into a bowl and let it rest for about 30 minutes. Then I pressed the dough into the pan, where it proofed for an hour.

I baked the bread for about 25 minutes, until it was puffy and golden brown.

My daughter loved this bread. She didn’t use it for sandwiches; she just cut chunks and ate them. I made one sandwich (pictured at the top of the page). It was good, and I can see how this loaf might work well for making party sandwiches. But to be honest, it didn’t rank among my favorite sandwich loaves, and I doubt if I will make this recipe again.

7 Comments

  1. August 22, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    […] ingredients are mixed in the food processor. However, after my recent near disaster while making Instant Sandwich Bread, I have sworn off using the food processor to mix dough and have gone back to my traditional […]

  2. Kayte said,

    August 18, 2010 at 9:50 am

    I do not have a food processor that can handle this, so if it gets made, it will need to be by hand, do you think that will work? I also don’t make any breads in my KA anymore as it broke it last summer and I vowed never to do that again, so I just mix by hand and knead and it seems to work that way. This is interesting…thanks for the process photos about the FP and how that worked/didn’t work. I think I would be more inclined to eat the bread like your daughter as it looks a little too doughy and tall for a sandwich, but who knows what the guys will do with it!!!

    • gaaarp said,

      August 18, 2010 at 5:41 pm

      You could certainly make this by hand. You could do it the classic way — mix, then knead on the board — or you could use a 20 minute autolyse followed by bowl folds (use a dough scraper to get under the dough, fold it over the center, turn the bowl a quarter turn, fold again, etc). I would do 20-30 folds, rest 30 minutes, fold, rest, fold. Then continue with the shaping, proofing, etc.

      This recipe is the one that caused me to give up on the food processor for these breads. I did the remaining recipes either by hand or with the Kitchen Aid.

  3. Heather said,

    August 5, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    I felt exactly the same way about this bread, it was good but it didn’t knock my socks off. I didn’t encounter the same problem with the size of my food processor, however, and I’m pretty sure mines the standard size. I wonder why the difference? Mine looked much like yours, however you got a better rise than I did. I’m glad I made it none-the-less, nothing ventured, nothing gained, right? Yours looks great.

  4. Renee said,

    August 5, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    Thanks for the kitchenaid tip! I’ll definitely use mine.

  5. astheroshe said,

    August 5, 2010 at 8:09 am

    it does look simple enough..and I am making BLT’s to night so it might work . Thanks for sharing!

  6. ap269 said,

    August 5, 2010 at 7:52 am

    This looks exactly like my attempt. We loved it, though. But I agree, the name “sandwich bread” is very misleading. As I put it in my post: this bread is exactly like the Turkish flatbread we can buy here in Germany.


Leave a Reply

