Mixed Berry Cobbler

After my recent trip to the farmer’s market, I had to find something to do with this beauty (and a quart of its friends):

I recently purchased Dorie Greenspan’s Baking: From My Home to Yours, which I have been dying to try out, and this seemed like the perfect opportunity. There is a recipe for mixed berry cobbler on pages 416-17. I’m a huge cobbler fan, so this sounded like just the ticket. I happened to have some blueberries in the fridge, which I thought would pair well with the blackberries.

As with most cobblers, this recipe came together quickly, I mixed the topping ingredients — flour, baking powder, sugar, salt. butter, and cream — then tossed together the filling. The recipe called for berries, sugar, cornstarch, zest of lemon or lime, and black pepper. I didn’t have any citrus on hand, so I substituted a few drops each of lemon and lime oil. I went heavy on the sugar, as the blackberries and blueberries were both a bit on the tart side.

I rolled the crust out to roughly the size of the pan, then put it on top of the fruit. I cut several slits in the dough, as well as a steam hole in the center.

I baked the cobbler at 375° F for about an hour. It looked and smelled amazing.

We waited to eat it until later in the evening, as we had company coming over. Everyone loved it, especially the citrus flavor. We all agreed that it had just the right balance of sweet and tart. This is definitely a recipe to repeat, and I think I’ll continue to substitute citrus oils for the zest.

8 Comments

  1. Di said,

    September 1, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Yum! I don’t think I’ve made this since we did it for TWD; I think I need to do something about that. =) If you need feedback on any of the other recipes, there are lots of us who can help out with that. One general thing that I’ve noted–I end up adding a bit of salt (or a bit more) to a lot of the recipes. Enjoy, it’s a great book!

    • gaaarp said,

      September 1, 2010 at 7:24 pm

      Thanks, Di. If this recipe was any indication, I’m going to love this book!

  2. Kayte said,

    August 31, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    Looks great from here…am going to need to check out this citrus oil situation as have not ventured forth with that as of yet. Love citrus in things, though, so probably a good quest. Hope you enjoy the book as much as we have…I have been baking in that group since May of 2008, I think…wow, that’s a lot of sugar and butter. Figured I should learn while the boys were still home to eat it. I have also become quite good at reducing the recipe size and am pleased to say that, like Nick’s, all her recipes I have done that with so far work well in halves. Not that you will need that soon since the girls are a bit behind my guys in the leaving home ages.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 31, 2010 at 5:25 pm

      True, but they are probably behind your guys in appetite, too! I’m not officially doing TWD, but I might bake a few of the chosen recipes, if they catch my fancy.

      I really like citrus oil. I substitute it for zest and extract all the time. It’s kind of like fiori di sicilia in that a little goes a long way.

      I’m encouraged to hear so many people like Dorie’s book. Does she follow TWD like Nick does ModBak?

      • Kayte said,

        August 31, 2010 at 6:27 pm

        TWD is closed, no new participants, so you can’t officially join anymore. But a lot of people bake along just for fun and I visit some of their blogs even if they aren’t on the official blog list. You will be one of those! Yes, Dorie comes around and visits, she usually visits the host of the recipe that week and leaves a comment. She has been on mine when I was the host and one other time when I was not, so she must randomly select a few bakers to visit I would guess. We are going to start something new over there this fall as well as Dorie has a new book out called Around My French Table, so the blogger that runs TWD is going to start up another blog along group for this new book. I am going to do that as well, I think. I bake/cook more when summer is not in session so hopefully I will be able to do the 2x a month commitment on that one, at least will try. Are you interested in that? It is savory as well as sweet. Someone will choose a recipe, we all cook and post it that week type of thing, I think.

      • gaaarp said,

        August 31, 2010 at 7:45 pm

        I might like to join the new Dorie group. I love French food and would like to learn to cook more of it. And it would be fun to be part of a group that does something other than just breads and sweets.

  3. Margaret said,

    August 30, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    Looks delicious. I don’t remember if I made this one or not. May have been B4 I joined. I know it was good tho. Had many great reviews. Guess I will have to go back and make.

    Isn’t this a great book.

    • gaaarp said,

      August 30, 2010 at 9:32 pm

      Thanks. It really is a great book. I’m not doing Tuesdays With Dorie, but I definitely want to bake more recipes from the book.


Leave a Reply

