Cookies and Cream Cheesecakes {MSC}

This is my first month baking with the Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes Club, and I was excited to start with this recipe for Cookies and Cream Cheesecakes chosen by Nina. I bought Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes a few months ago with a 50% off coupon at JoAnn’s, but until now I hadn’t baked anything from it. Suffice it to say, I’ll be baking more from this book, and not just once a month with the Club.

My daughter actually saw this recipe before she knew I had joined the Cupcakes Club and asked me if we could make them. Oreos and cheesecake baked in a cupcake, who could resist?

We cut the recipe in half, in part because I don’t have 30 muffin cups, but mostly so we wouldn’t eat that many cupcakes between the four of us.

This was a very easy recipe to make. In the time it took my daughter to line the muffin pans and put an Oreo in each cup, I had mixed the batter, which consisted of cream cheese, sugar, vanilla, eggs, sour cream, salt, and crushed Oreos. I was afraid the cheesecakes would be too rich and sweet, but there wasn’t much sugar in the recipe, and the sour cream cut the richness. All in all, I would call this a perfectly balanced recipe.

After we baked them, I put them on a cooling rack on the table to cool. The recipe said to cool them in the pans, then put the pans in the refrigerator for at least four hours before eating. I wasn’t sure I could wait that long. As it turns out, neither could Bailey, our three-year-old beagle. I heard something in the dining room, and went to check only to find him standing on the table, enjoying his third cheesecake, paper and all. This wasn’t his first foray into the culinary arts. I only wished I had thought to take a picture of him before I shooed him off the table.

I decided the cheesecakes were cool enough, so I put one pan in the refrigerator and the other, smaller pan in the freezer. After about 45 minutes, we sampled the ones from the freezer. They were delicious. Sweet and crunchy, with a nice tang from the cream cheese and sour cream.

We will definitely make these again. And I’m sticking with the Club, my waistline be damned.

12 Comments

  1. Kayte said,

    October 3, 2010 at 7:42 am

    Cracking up over Bailey’s Culinary Adventures…too funny. I tend to always scale down the cupcake recipes and it is usually very easy to do so…I have also found that her recipes are very generous, so if it says 15 for half, I know I will probably get 18 easily. Very fun to have you in another group baking with me…your cupcakes look really wonderful. As can be guessed, the guys polished a dozen of these off in no time. Definitely a repeat occasionally around here.

  2. Nina said,

    September 18, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    Thanks for baking with me this month! They look awesome, and I love your dog. I know some of my friends couldn’t wait either, but since my roommate was out for the afternoon that I was letting them cool, I didn’t have too much of a problem. By the time she got back from all her daily activities, they were set enough to be eaten.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 18, 2010 at 2:16 pm

      Thanks for picking such a great recipe! This was my first MSC bake, and I’m definitely hooked!

  3. Julie said,

    September 16, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    I loved these, too. I took them to work because they were way too tempting to have in the house. I love the Martha Stewart Cupcake recipes.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 16, 2010 at 8:52 pm

      I keep thinking it would be a good idea to take them to work. The problem is, there are over 40 people in my department, so I’d have to make a double batch.

  4. Renee said,

    September 15, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    Welcome to the cupcake club!! I have had so much with these cupcakes. I loved these as well.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 15, 2010 at 5:19 pm

      Cupcakes are one of those things I always wonder why I don’t bake more often. They’re so easy, and everyone loves them. I am so glad to have found this book and club.

  5. marthaandme said,

    September 15, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    Love the dog. And I know – this club is dangerous to the waist. I thought they were delish.

  6. Abby said,

    September 15, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    These sound so delicious . . . and dangerous!! 😉

  7. Rebecca said,

    September 15, 2010 at 10:37 am

    Glad these were a hit. We couldn’t wait to try them either!

  8. ap269 said,

    September 15, 2010 at 7:41 am

    Oreos and cheesecake – now I’m craving oreos… They are not that easy to find here. So, how many challenges are you participating in? Looks like everytime I read a new post it belongs to another challenge. Kudos!

    • gaaarp said,

      September 15, 2010 at 10:43 am

      I’m trying to limit them to ones I think I can handle. MSC is only once a month, so it’s definitely doable. And I just recently got two of Dorie Greenspan’s books, including her new one, so how could I not do that challenge, too? 😉


Leave a Reply

