Cornetti: Olive Oil Rolls from Bologna {ModBak}

The final recipe in the Breads section of the Modern Baker Challenge is Cornetti, a uniquely-shaped dinner roll. When shaped correctly, they look like two croissants criss-crossed over one another. Mine more closely resembled little voodoo dolls.

Other than the shaping, this is a fairly simple recipe, consisting of flour, yeast, water, salt, olive oil, and sugar. I mixed the ingredients in the Kitchen Aid, let them autolyse for a few minutes, and mixed some more. After turning the dough out into an oiled bowl, I covered it and let it ferment for about an hour.

When the dough had risen, I divided into six pieces (I made a half recipe), shaped each piece into a ball, and let the dough balls rest for a few minutes.

After the dough had relaxed a bit, I began rolling it out. I found it required another short rest to relax enough to get the dough balls rolled out to 12″ x 3 1/2″ rectangles.

Nick Malgieri says to roll out all the dough at once, then begin shaping it; but I don’t have that much counter space, so I shaped the rolls one at a time. After rolling the dough into a rectangle, I cut the dough corner to corner with a pizza wheel, then flipped one piece of dough so the points were touching.

I brushed the dough with olive oil, then rolled each side from the wide edge to the center, making two connected croissant-shaped rolls.

I lifted the rolls to the baking pan. As I was setting them on the pan, I crossed one roll over the other.

I rolled and shaped the remaining dough, then allowed the rolls to proof for about 45 minutes. I baked the rolls in a 400° oven for about 25 minutes, until they were puffed, golden, and slightly firm to the touch.

The rolls smelled really good coming out of the oven. My shaping left a bit to be desired, but I think with a little experience, these would be really impressive dinner rolls.

As for taste, they were really good. Because of the crescent shape, I was expecting them to be light and fluffy. They weren’t. The texture was what you would expect from a typical dinner roll. Again, not what I expected, but really tasty, especially with homemade plum jam.

I wonder how it would be to make this shape with croissant dough? I might have to try that when we get to croissants.

For now, I’m ready to move onto the next section of the Challenge, Yeast-Risen Specialties, Sweet and Savory. We will be baking in this section for the rest of the year. There are some great holiday recipes like brioche, babka, and ginger-scented panettone. So if you’ve thought about joining the Modern Baker Challenge, this would be a great time to dive in.

5 Comments

  1. Sara said,

    September 19, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    I didn’t manage these but I do remember thinking they were an odd shape! Somehow I never got into making dinner rolls but I was glad to see your take!

  2. Kayte said,

    September 19, 2010 at 7:22 am

    Voodoo dolls…lol…they look fantastic, whatever you think. Who would not want to be presented with one of these??? You did a great job on them, love the process photos. Congratulations on finishing this section!! There was never a doubt in my mind. 😉

    • gaaarp said,

      September 19, 2010 at 8:38 am

      Thanks, Kayte. The big question is, can I wait until October to start the next section?

  3. Renee said,

    September 18, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    They look nice, but I would have thought they’d be lighter too. I like dinner rolls okay, but I’d much prefer a more croissant dough texture anyday.

    • gaaarp said,

      September 19, 2010 at 8:38 am

      Croissants come up in the next section. I think I’ll try to shape some of them like Cornetti just for fun.


Leave a Reply

