Coupétade (French-Toast Pudding) {AMFT} {FFwD}

Anyone who knows me knows that I love bread pudding. And those who know me well know I also love French toast, especially baked French toast. In fact, I prefer the baked version to the “real thing”. I’m not much of a morning person, so I like the idea of mixing up the French toast the night before, popping in the oven while I have my first cup of coffee, and having breakfast ready by the time everyone else is up and around.

So, when I found a recipe in Around My French Table that combines both of these into one recipe, I couldn’t wait to try it. I had just made Dorie Greenspan’s brioche and had a loaf left over, just waiting to be made into coupétade.

I began by mixing up the French toast ingredients, which consisted of eggs, milk, and sugar. After soaking the brioche, I cooked it on the griddle in plenty of butter.

After the French toast was finished, I cut each slice in half diagonally, and arranged the pieces in the pan. Then I mixed up the custard ingredients — eggs, sugar, vanilla, and milk. I poured this over the French toast and allowed it soak for a few minutes, so the bread would absorb some of the custard. The recipe called for dried fruit, which I put on half of the pan, as I knew my girls would like it better plain.

I baked the pudding in a water bath for about an hour and a half, until the custard was set. The house smelled amazing while the pudding was baking, and I was excited to try it once it cooled.

So, how did it taste? It was quite good. But not nearly as good as my N’awlins Bread Pudding. In fact, it tasted like one of my baked French toast recipes, which is fine, but not what I was expecting from bread pudding. It seemed more like a breakfast bake than a dessert. And unlike my typical baked French toast, I had gone to the effort of frying the French toast first and so was expecting something more.

So,while I enjoyed it, and we ate most of it over the next few days, this isn’t a recipe I’m likely to repeat. But I will definitely use Dorie’s brioche the next time I make baked French toast or bread pudding.

This post participates in French Fridays with Dorie. Check out the website to see what others thought of this recipe.

24 Comments

  1. May 12, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    The aroma was fabulous as this baked and can you believe I was fasting for a blood test (routine, no worries) ? I made it through frying the french toast without cravings but was going nuts as this baked in the oven 🙂 I think this would be a nice brunch dish and while we also enjoyed it, I am not sure we will revisit it either.

  2. Cher said,

    May 12, 2013 at 11:27 am

    Definitely would rather have this one for breakfast, but hey if someone else was making it, I wouldn’t argue about what meal they served it to me at…

  3. Mary Hirsch said,

    May 11, 2013 at 11:11 pm

    I enjoyed this version of French toast pudding but, like you, I think it’s all about breakfast or brunch. I also tried it cold with creme fraiche and thought it okay but not worth the calories. I don’t particularly like bread pudding so I have no good recipes on file. My French Toast – I want it to be French Toast. That’s delicious enough for me.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 11, 2013 at 11:30 pm

      I agree about French toast. Why mess with something that’s great on its own?

  4. betsy said,

    May 11, 2013 at 3:42 pm

    I preferred it as dessert since I don’t like sweet breakfasts. When I make French toast, I only use eggs and milk, no sugar. But, I did enjoy this one and would try it again.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 11, 2013 at 11:30 pm

      I love sweets any time of the day!

  5. May 11, 2013 at 12:50 am

    We had this for dessert AND breakfast the next day. Yes, definitely a breakfast fare.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 11, 2013 at 8:26 am

      With French toast in it, how could it not be a breakfast?!? 🙂

  6. Alice said,

    May 10, 2013 at 2:55 pm

    the house DID smell good, didn’t it?? 🙂 I loved that!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 10, 2013 at 5:54 pm

      Yes, it did! It was worth baking just to enjoy the aroma!

  7. May 10, 2013 at 12:59 pm

    We are in a time machine right? I auditioned this one for xmas morning breakfast and put some pistachios in it for some green. I kinda like the idea of having this cold on xmas morning.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 10, 2013 at 1:22 pm

      Pistachios sound like a great addition. A splash of holiday color, and that nutty, buttery flavor.

  8. Anne Marie said,

    May 10, 2013 at 9:13 am

    We enjoyed it with strawberries and bananas, apparently we share aversions.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 10, 2013 at 11:42 am

      Fresh fruit would have been a great addition!

  9. lynnlly said,

    May 10, 2013 at 8:29 am

    Ah! You made the brioche! I didn’t have the time but normal bread’s fine. I had it for breakfast.

    • gaaarp said,

      May 10, 2013 at 11:42 am

      Actually, I made the brioche first and came across this recipe to use it up.

      • lynnlly said,

        May 10, 2013 at 7:27 pm

        That’s good timing!

  10. May 10, 2013 at 7:59 am

    Yeah, my family ate it as breakfast…they loved it, but I have another recipe I prefer, too 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      May 10, 2013 at 11:41 am

      It was still worth trying a new recipe. Any excuse for French toast!

  11. dulceshome said,

    May 9, 2013 at 12:42 am

    I just finished mine for ffwd, I agree with you. I make a traditional New Orleans bread pudding and this wasn’t quite up to that measure. Mine does kind of look like yours though!

    • gaaarp said,

      May 9, 2013 at 6:52 pm

      I’m always game to try a new Baked French Toast recipe, so I wasn’t disappointed about this one. And I often try new bread pudding recipes, but none measures up to my tried and true.

  12. May 5, 2013 at 8:37 pm

    […] I will make, or if I’ll post many or any of them. But I have already made next week’s Coupetade. And I love both asparagus and avocado. So there’s a good chance I’ll be around at […]

  13. Teresa said,

    May 3, 2013 at 8:59 pm

    This one has finally come up on the French Fridays rotation – we enjoyed it, but I agree with you – it’s definitely a breakfast bake rather than a true bread pudding.


Leave a Reply

