Gougères (Cheese Puffs) {FFwD}

The first weekly recipe featured at French Fridays with Dorie is also the first recipe in Around My French Table. An inspired choice, if you ask me. After all, what better place to start than at the beginning? And I can’t think of a better recipe to kick off FFwD than Gougères. They’re light and airy cheese appetizers:  think cheese-filled cream puffs.

The recipe begins with a pâte à choux, a light pastry dough consisting of eggs, milk, water, butter, salt, and flour. The dough is very wet and, unlike other pastry doughs, must be piped for spooned out because it is too soft to support itself. When baked, the dough puffs up to several times its original size. In the case of Gougères, the pâte à choux dough has Gruyère cheese added to it.

The Gougères took about 25 minutes to bake and were delicious right out of the oven. They were light, airy, and oh-so-cheesy. My family and I devoured them in no time.

I think Dorie knew what she was doing when she chose this as the first FFwD recipe. It’s simple and delicious. And it would be hard to make these and not be hooked on her new book.

I’m definitely hooked.  And now I have one more reason to look forward to Fridays.

22 Comments

  1. January 13, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    […] made with pâte à choux dough. This is the same basic dough used to make Dorie’s delicious Gougères. It’s also the same dough used for cream […]

  2. Comfy Cook said,

    October 14, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    They are beautiful. I made them tonight. Got the book today. That book is gorgeous. French will be fun.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 14, 2010 at 8:48 pm

      I’m really enjoying it so far. I’m going to visit my parents this weekend and taking the gougere recipe with me.

  3. spike said,

    October 4, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    these disappeared quickly in my house too!

  4. Di said,

    October 3, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    Off to a great start! They disappeared pretty quickly around here, too. I’m excited about Fridays, but I’ve got to get better organized–I barely managed ot get my post up before midnight. =)

    • gaaarp said,

      October 3, 2010 at 5:43 pm

      The only way I can post on Fridays is to write the posts ahead of time. I’ve already made the mustard tart and apple cake, and wrote the tart blog to be posted next Friday. And we’re making the Vietnamese Chicken Noodle Soup for dinner tonight.

  5. mike said,

    October 3, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    I love cabbage and have never made a kings cake (but definitely interested!)! Love your blog and enthusiasm for FFwD – should be fun! Beautiful plate of gougeres!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 3, 2010 at 2:12 pm

      Thanks, Mike. I’m really enjoying Dorie’s new book and am looking forward to cooking along with so many people.

      I do, of course, have a great King Cake recipe on my blog. You should check it out around Fat Tuesday next year. Of course, I bake King Cakes all year long!

  6. Kayte said,

    October 3, 2010 at 7:30 am

    They look wonderful…and I will get to them. It’s hard to bake when there is no one around to eat anything, and I certainly don’t want to be left in a room with even a partial recipe of these! Hopefully today when my eaters return from the Denver recruit trip. Then I should have eaters around every weekend until the boy leaves for college. Love that your family enjoyed these so much.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 3, 2010 at 1:25 pm

      You could make these up, then pop them in the fridge until the guys get home.

  7. October 2, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    I know what you mean about your family devouring them in no time. Same thing happened at my house. Yours turned out prettier than mine did though but mine still tasted yummy!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 2, 2010 at 6:09 pm

      Thanks, Renee. I’m thinking about making more for a snack this evening!

  8. Shandy Hanke said,

    October 2, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    What a fun-filled delicious cookbook to start cooking and baking out of. Your gougeres are crispy golden perfection!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 2, 2010 at 6:09 pm

      Thanks! I’m excited to try more recipes from the book.

  9. October 2, 2010 at 3:45 am

    Same here; I’m really looking forward to this! Good job.

  10. Renee said,

    October 1, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    I loved these too! By the time my husband got home I just handed him the plate and said, “Keep these away from me. I’ve already eaten half of them.” Delicious!! And, so easy!

  11. October 1, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    Its amazing how fast these disappeared, right?

  12. Jacque said,

    October 1, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    Mmmm, what a lovely pile of puffs!

  13. teaandscones said,

    October 1, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    This is going to be fun isn’t it. And these were easy. And delicious.

    Process the pics. They are great. Leave them alone.

  14. jayne said,

    October 1, 2010 at 9:37 am

    Weren’t these fabulous? I agree – this was the perfect recipe to start FFwD with! Great job!

  15. Clivia said,

    October 1, 2010 at 8:49 am

    You are really making headway through this book. Good for you. Your gougeres look delicious!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 1, 2010 at 10:07 am

      Thanks. I usually post process photos, too, but these came together so quickly, I forgot to take any!


Leave a Reply

