Snickerdoodle Cupcakes {MSC}

This month’s selection for the Martha Stewart Cupcakes Club is Snickerdoodle Cupcakes, featured on page 138. I’m a huge Snickerdoodle fan, which could be good or bad when it came to these cupcakes. I knew I would like the flavors, chiefly cinnamon and sugar. But just because a dish is fashioned after another dish doesn’t guarantee that it will live up to the original.

So, with mixed feelings, I set out to make this month’s cupcakes. As with most of the recipes in this book, I decided to make a half recipe, as the full recipe yields 28 cupcakes, and I don’t need that much temptation in my house.

The recipe calls for AP and cake flours. I didn’t have cake flour in the cupboard, so I improvised by adding a bit of corn starch to some all-purpose flour, with a ratio of two tablespoons corn starch per one cup flour. The easiest way to do this is to measure the corn starch into a dry one-cup measuring cup, then fill the cup the rest of the way with flour.

I mixed up the batter and filled the cupcake pans. In the past, I’ve found Martha’s recipes to be very generous — if the yield is supposed to be 15, you almost always end up with 18 cupcakes. So I was surprised when this recipe, which I expected to yield at least 16 cupcakes, ended up making only 12.

I baked the cupcakes for about 20 minutes. They smelled a lot like snickerdoodle cookies while they baked. And they came out looking something like them, too.

After the cupcakes cooled, I made the Seven-Minute Frosting on page 303. This is a meringue-type frosting, in which egg whites are beaten together with a sugar syrup cooked to the soft-ball stage.

The frosting is supposed to be piped onto the cupcakes using a Wilton 1A tip. I didn’t have the tip, and although I admit to looking for it at one store, I ultimately decided to stick to my self-imposed, although infrequently followed, rule of not buying a new piece of cooking equipment until at least the second or third time I need it. So I frosted the cupcakes without a tip. To do this, I used a disposable piping bag and cut a fairly large chunk off the end. And I have to say, it worked pretty well.

A little sprinkle of cinnamon-sugar was all it took to finish them off. The cell phone picture above doesn’t do justice to these cupcakes. They were easily the most professional-looking cupcakes I’ve ever made.

So, how did they compare to “real” snickerdoodles? Quite favorably, I’d have to say. I would be proud to serve these to company or, as I plan on doing, contribute them to a school bake sale.

14 Comments

  1. October 15, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    Those look terrific! I was too chicken to try the 7 minute frosting. We always make the full batch of cupcakes but cut the FROSTING in half 😉 The cupcakes were sooo good. Big snickerdoodle fan here (cupcake and cookie)

    • gaaarp said,

      October 15, 2010 at 12:53 pm

      I’m glad I didn’t know enough to be afraid of the seven-minute frosting!

  2. Rebecca said,

    October 15, 2010 at 10:57 am

    Yummy! Yours look really good, even with the cell phone camera. What’s the secret of the 7 minute frosting? I can never get it to work.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 15, 2010 at 12:02 pm

      The secret for me must have been beginner’s luck, since I’d never made it before and it worked!

  3. Mary Ann said,

    October 15, 2010 at 10:04 am

    I just cut off the tip of my decorating bag too and it worked great. I’m glad you liked these since you love the cookies. I thought they were really great.
    Yours look yummy!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 15, 2010 at 12:01 pm

      Thanks. They were really good. I think I’ll make them again before the next MSC cupcakes come up.

  4. Renee said,

    October 15, 2010 at 12:43 am

    I thought these were fantastic too and the piping looks great! Using just a bag works! I’ve had the halving issue with some of her other recipes. I usually always half them. Sometimes I have more than I expect and sometimes less.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 15, 2010 at 12:55 am

      Thanks, Renee. I just couldn’t see buying a tip for these, since I hardly ever do any piping. I got the idea from Nick Malgieri’s chocolate cake class. He snipped the end off a bag to pipe the top of a cake. He was doing a thin line, but I figured it would work for the thick piping on the cupcakes, since the frosting was so thick.

  5. Marthe said,

    October 14, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    Gorgeous!! Another item that’s still on my list of things to bake…Running a bit late this week! Your cupcakes look absolutely perfect to me!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 15, 2010 at 12:51 am

      Thanks. I don’t know about perfect, but they were really good!

  6. teaandscones said,

    October 14, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    these were really tasty. I could taste the Snickerdoodle in them. Your piping bag trick works for me. Look just right.

  7. Heather said,

    October 14, 2010 at 10:32 am

    One word: Yum!

  8. Kayte said,

    October 14, 2010 at 7:30 am

    I made these yesterday and they were a big hit. I made a quarter of a recipe, ditto on the temptation. I should have made half as Matt ate FIVE of them after swim practice…I only made 9. Your frosting looks great with the way you used the bag for a piping bag/tip. These tasted very snickerdoodly to me, especially after they were baked and cooled. YUM.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 14, 2010 at 8:46 pm

      How many calories does Matt eat in a day when he’s swimming? I think I remember reading that Michael Phelps consumed 12,000 while he was in training. Of course, he had the munchies. 🙂


Leave a Reply

