Quick Brioche Braid {ModBak}

The first recipe in the third section of The Modern Baker is a bread with which I am quite familiar, having baked three versions from Peter Reinhart’s The Bread Baker’s Apprentice, and one from Dorie Greenspan’s new book, Around My French Table. What differentiates Nick Malgeri‘s brioche recipe from others I’ve made is that it comes together very quickly, is shaped immediately after mixing, and rises only once.

I made this bread twice. The first time I departed from the recipe in two ways. First, I mixed the dough in the stand mixer instead of the food processor.

As you can see, the dough was very wet. After mixing it, I put the dough in bread pans (the second departure from the recipe, which calls for braiding the dough).

Even though it remained slack, the dough baked up nicely, and I was pleased with the look of the resulting brioche.

As far as the taste goes, I would have to say it wasn’t my favorite of the brioches I’ve made. It tasted fine, but wasn’t exceptional. I made Dorie’s brioche at the same time and liked it better.

I made the first batch of brioche before we actually go to this section of the book, and I decided to remake it, this time following the recipe. So, I mixed the dough in the food processor instead of the mixer. I’m still having the issue of liquids leaking out of the food pro when I use it to make dough, but I’m starting to think it’s either something with my Cuisinart or user error, as others don’t seem to have this problem.

After mixing the dough, I shaped the loaf. The dough was much less slack than the first time I made the recipe and was easy to handle. First, I divided the dough into three pieces, rolled each piece into a rope, and then braided the ropes.

I allowed the bread to proof for about two hours, until it doubled in size.

After brushing the loaf with beaten egg, I baked it in a 350° oven for about 40 minutes, until it was well-risen and golden brown.

The bread smelled amazing. And it looked really nice when I sliced it. The big question, of course, was how it would taste.

Although I didn’t have another brioche to compare this one to, this loaf would stack up well against any of the other recipes I have tried. In fact, given how easy this one is to prepare, it may just become my go-to recipe for brioche.

8 Comments

  1. May 14, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    […] And Nick Malgieri has a quick and easy brioche recipe in The Modern Baker, which I used to make a quick brioche braid and marbled chocolate […]

  2. October 27, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    […] recipe starts with a batch of quick brioche dough. After turning the dough out of the food processor, I pressed it out to a square, then rolled it […]

  3. October 23, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    […] in the third section of The Modern Baker is another brioche loaf. The basic recipe is similar to Quick Brioche, with the addition of rum and lemon zest. After making the brioche dough, it is divided into three […]

  4. Kayte said,

    October 21, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    Love the comparison notes…and the tips you always throw in the posts. And, of course, the photos showing HOW TO BRAID b/c I am hopeless at that part. Eager to try this one, both of the loaves look really great to me in color, texture, etc. It will be fun to try. I made the 3 from PR BBA but have not made Dorie’s yet.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 21, 2010 at 9:45 pm

      Dorie’s recipe is really good, too. It’s fairly easy, although it does require time, as it calls for an overnight rest.

  5. Renee said,

    October 20, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    I love that it’s so easy- just one rise. Very nice job! I hadn’t planned on making this one on it’s own, but I liked the brioche from BBA. Next time I want brioche I’ll give it a try.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 21, 2010 at 9:44 pm

      I’d love to hear what you think of it when you make it. For as easy and fast as it is, it really tastes great.

  6. Margaret said,

    October 20, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    Looks beautiful. I have this one on my list.


Leave a Reply

