Hachis Parmentier {FFwD}

This week’s French Fridays with Dorie recipe is hachis Parmentier, a French version of shepherd’s pie. Unlike a classic shepherd’s pie, however, this one is made with finely chopped beef chuck and sausage in place of the ground beef. This adds a great depth of flavor that elevates this dish beyond your expectations for meat pie.

After gathering my ingredients, I began by cooking the beef into a broth with vegetables and spices.

The broth cooked down for about an hour and 45 minutes, until it reduced in volume by about half and the beef was cooked through.

For the filling, I removed the beef from the broth, chopped it finely with a chef’s knife, and added it to a skillet with the sausage, a teaspoon of tomato paste, salt, pepper, and some of the broth.

Then I boiled and riced the potatoes for the topping.

I assembled the hachis Parmentier, then topped it with grated Gruyère and dotted the top with butter.

I baked it for 30 minutes at 400°F, until it was bubbly and the top had begun to brown a bit.

I served the hachis Parmentier for dinner with a salad. My whole family loved it. My wife and I agreed that it was way better than any shepherd’s pie either of us had ever tasted.

Another success from Around My French Table. I’m enjoying this journey and the way it’s opening our minds and palates to a whole new world of cuisine.

Up next week: Marie-Helene’s Apple Cake

16 Comments

  1. Di said,

    October 26, 2010 at 11:30 pm

    Looks great, Phyl! I did the ground beef quick version, and kind of wish I’d had time for the more involved one. I also want to try it again with different sausage, or maybe no sausage. The potatoes were awesome, though. =) And with any luck I’ll finally get mine posted this week…

  2. Clivia said,

    October 25, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    Great photos! We thought this meal was out of this world too.

  3. Kayte said,

    October 24, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Thanks for the process photos…always so helpful, especially when one is putting off making this now for days. Tomorrow…I’m aiming for tomorrow. It all looks great…figuring the guys will love this one, meat and potato fans that they are always. I was admiring the salads, and noticing that each person there has their own version. I’m sure you can name them off easily. Guessing that back right is dau 6; back right dau 13, front left you, and front right J. Am I close?

    • gaaarp said,

      October 24, 2010 at 9:39 pm

      Almost. J is the poppy seed fan. I like creamy blue cheese.

      You and the guys will love this whenever you get around to making it. I was at the grocery story yesterday and almost picked up the ingredients to do it again.

  4. Alexis said,

    October 24, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    I totally agree! Best Shepherd’s Pie EVER!

  5. dorie said,

    October 24, 2010 at 1:36 am

    Well done and I’m so glad you liked the dish.

  6. onewetfoot said,

    October 23, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    I especially love your photos of the plated dish.

  7. October 22, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    I love your red cookware! Such a stylish kitchen! The food in it looks divine too 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      October 22, 2010 at 9:45 pm

      Thanks. I’m kind of a sucker for enameled cast iron cookware. It’s hard to tell from the photos, but I used two different pots — one was a standard stock pot, the other one was an oval pot that I baked it in.

  8. Anne Marie said,

    October 22, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    Too much butter? Never. Looks delicious. Everyone loved it in my house.

  9. Renee said,

    October 22, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    I now know I should have taken the time to do the beef the right way. That looks incredible. Can I come over for dinner?

    • gaaarp said,

      October 22, 2010 at 1:12 pm

      Sure, come on over. Of course, tonight we’re having pizza delivered.

  10. Cristine said,

    October 22, 2010 at 11:36 am

    Looks wonderful!

  11. October 22, 2010 at 9:15 am

    Looks delicious! I should have put more butter on top of mine 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      October 22, 2010 at 1:11 pm

      When I took it out of the oven, I thought perhaps I had used too much butter. Then I came to my senses and realized that’s not possible. 😉


Leave a Reply

