Marbled Chocolate Brioche Loaf {ModBak}

The second recipe in the third section of The Modern Baker is another brioche loaf. The basic recipe is similar to Quick Brioche, with the addition of rum and lemon zest. After making the brioche dough, it is divided into three pieces, and one of the pieces is then enriched with bittersweet chocolate and cinnamon.

I patted one of the plain pieces of dough into a five-inch square and set it aside. I did the same with the chocolate dough, then stacked it on top of the plain dough. Finally, I patted out the last piece of plain dough and added it to the stack.

After pressing the dough together, I cut it into three pieces.

Then I cut each strip into about 10 pieces, which I put into a bowl and tossed together.

I added a teaspoon of water, squished the dough into a ball, then pressed it into a loaf pan.

I allowed the dough to rise for two hours. Even though it hadn’t crested the top of the pan, it was ready to bake.

I baked the bread in a 350° oven for 40 minutes. The loaf smelled so good baking, with the chocolate, rum, and butter begging to be tasted.

I cooled the loaf on its side to keep it from deflating.

I sliced into the loaf and liked what I saw. It had a nice even crumb and the marbling looked like the picture in the book.

This was a really delicious bread. The chocolate gave it a wonderful flavor without being cloying sweet. It was good plain, toasted, and with a little marmalade. And after a few days, it made great chocolate bread pudding.

7 Comments

  1. May 14, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    […] Now, I’m no stranger to brioche. I made three versions of it during the Bread Baker’s Apprentice Challenge. Bubble-top brioche was one of the first recipes I made from Dorie Greenspan’s Around My French Table (AMFT). And Nick Malgieri has a quick and easy brioche recipe in The Modern Baker, which I used to make a quick brioche braid and marbled chocolate brioche loaf. […]

  2. Di said,

    October 26, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    That looks really cool! I definitely want to try a marble brioche now, and soon. =)

  3. Kayte said,

    October 24, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    Love the process photos. This looks so interesting to get it into the pan like that and all. I like the end result and slicing the bread to see what the design is like inside…like a little art project, each one is so unique and different. Great post on it all.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 24, 2010 at 9:41 pm

      Thanks. It was really good. I’m looking forward to the other recipes in this section.

  4. October 24, 2010 at 6:18 am

    Does this keep well? I’m asking because the Chocolate Babka really dried up fairly quickly.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 24, 2010 at 8:45 am

      Brioche tends to dry out quickly, but I was surprised by the keeping quality of this loaf. I kept the loaf whole, as it seems to go stale faster once it’s sliced, and used it for toast for several days after it was baked. (BTW – toasted with Nutella was to die for.)

      I decided to make bread pudding with the rest of the loaf, and after about a week, I was surprised at how moist it still was. In fact, I wished I had sliced it the day before to let it stale for a bit before making the pudding with it.

  5. Renee said,

    October 24, 2010 at 2:06 am

    Mine never made it to bread pudding possibility. I agree. It was delicious and simple without being too sweet.


Leave a Reply

