Cinnamon Breakfast Ring {ModBak}

The third bread in the Yeast-Risen Specialties section of The Modern Baker is Cinnamon Raisin Breakfast Ring.

This recipe starts with a batch of quick brioche dough. After turning the dough out of the food processor, I pressed it out to a square, then rolled it into a rectangle.

I spread the dough with a mixture of butter, cinnamon, and sugar, then sprinkled it with pecans. The recipe also called for raisins, but I omitted them so the girls would eat it.

I rolled the dough from the long end, then curled the dough into a ring on the baking sheet.

It didn’t come out as even as I had hoped, and I had a bit of trouble getting the ends to stay together. But in the end, it looked fine.

I cut slits in the ring from the outside about 3/4 of the way to the center.

Then I twisted each section 1/4 turn, so that the filling was visible.

After letting the shaped dough rise for about two hours, I brushed the surface with an egg wash and sprinkled it with more pecans.

I baked the ring in a 350° F oven for about 25 minutes. It looked and smelled terrific when it came out of the oven.

This was an impressive-looking loaf that would be great to serve to company or for a casual brunch. And it was really delicious — soft, gooey with cinnamon, but not overly so. Definitely a dish to make again and again.

10 Comments

  1. Kayte said,

    October 28, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Looks show-stopping spectacular! Good move on the raisin deal…that will be happening here as well, although I might sub dried cherries, shhh…don’t tell. I love the process photos as I have never made a ring before, so I think that I can now do that cutting part correctly. Thanks. And, btw, it’s nice to see you slowing the pace a little, my heart is racing less at how far behind I might be getting.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 28, 2010 at 11:04 am

      Don’t get too comfortable. You know me — I’m bound to go on a baking tear one of these weekends and finish off this section. I’ve already made two of the as-yet-unofficial TTwD recipes for November.

  2. ap269 said,

    October 28, 2010 at 3:25 am

    May I have a slice, please? I’ll omit the raisins, too… Btw, I DID bake my 2 assigned breads already, just didn’t have time to blog about them – will do so soon!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 28, 2010 at 8:47 am

      Your doing better than I am. I’ve only baked one of my assigned breads. I’m going to try to get to the other one this weekend.

  3. Margaret said,

    October 27, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    Absolutely beautiful bread, Phyl. Cannot wait to make this one. Glad we have a couple of months left as I haven’t made any yet from this section.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 27, 2010 at 10:53 pm

      Thanks, Margaret. I feel like I’m behind, although I guess I’m not really. I’ve made the first five recipes, which puts me on track to finish all 15 in three months. But I’m ususally much further along by this point.

  4. Renee said,

    October 27, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    Fantastic!! I so support the omitting of the raisins. I’m doing that next time.

    • gaaarp said,

      October 27, 2010 at 10:51 pm

      I pretty much leave raisins out of everything. The girls claim not to like them, even though they eat them in things sometimes. If I use them, then I end up eating the whole thing.

  5. Heather said,

    October 27, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Oh yum! That looks like the perfect Christmas morning breakfast. I’ll have to look up the recipe and see if it’s feasible. As always, I love reading your posts because the information (and the pix) are so helpful. Great job!

    • gaaarp said,

      October 27, 2010 at 9:44 pm

      Thanks, Heather! I thnk you could easily do this Christmas morning. In fact, if you wanted, you could probably make it the night before, refrigerate it, then get it out for an hour or so before you bake it.


Leave a Reply

