Fowler’s Mill Rustic Apple Tart

The Folwer’s Mill has operated in Chardon, Ohio, for 176 years, and a few weeks ago I finally got there. We were on our annual pilgrimage to Patterson Fruit Farm, and I decided to take a small detour to Fowler’s Mill.

As you would expect, the mill store carries a variety of fresh grains, processed in the mill’s stone grinders. But what Fowler’s Mill is known for is its baking mixes, including pancake, muffin, cookie, apple cake, apple crisp, shortcake, and cobbler mixes. So, in addition to bread, cake, and oat flours, I had to try a few baking mixes. Since we had just been to Patterson’s, where we loaded up on fresh apples, I chose Apple Crumb Pie Mix and Rustic Apple Tart Mix.

I had never made a rustic tart before, so I decided to try that baking mix first. A rustic tart is similar to other tarts or pies in that it consists of a crust and some kind of fruit filling. What distinguishes it from other recipes is that the dough, rather than being pressed into a pie or tart pan, is folded partway around the filling.

After making the dough,which consisted of the mix, butter, and cold water, I cut up the apples and mixed them with sugar and cinnamon.

I rolled out the crust, draped it over a ceramic pie plate that I had also purchased at Fowler’s, and added the apple filling. Then I folded the edges of the crust over the filling, leaving the center uncovered. I brushed the crust with egg wash and sprinkled it with finishing sugar.

It baked up golden and gooey, and smelled delicious.

I really liked the rustic look of the tart and the way the apples had begun to caramelize.

This is a wonderfully homey dish that I would happily serve at the end of a kitchen supper. Not at all pretentious, perfectly comforting, and delicious.

It’s a bit of a drive to get to Fowler’s Mill, but they sell online and ship to the Continental US. I probably won’t get there too often. But a stop at the mill will definitely be included in our annual Patterson trip from now on.

10 Comments

  1. July 26, 2011 at 8:04 am

    […] recipe to me is less like a pie than an apple tart. In fact, it is very similar to the rustic apple tart I made last Fall using a mix from Fowler’s […]

  2. November 22, 2010 at 8:03 am

    […] recently made Marie-Hélène’s Apple Cake for French Fridays with Dorie and a rustic apple tart, I hadn’t yet had my fill of apple dishes. When I got my copy of Around My French Table, one […]

  3. Cakelaw said,

    November 17, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    This looks so good!

  4. Kayte said,

    November 8, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    Looks great…love the rustic look…and of course anything with apples is a sure fire hit here. Need to proceed forward on making a rustic apple tart here…

    • gaaarp said,

      November 8, 2010 at 6:23 pm

      Most of my attempts at pie crust end up looking “rustic”, to put it generously. So this was perfect for me.

  5. Margaret said,

    November 8, 2010 at 12:16 am

    I love rustic tarts. Much better/easier than pie. I would much rather make this than a regular pie. And this looks great.

    • gaaarp said,

      November 8, 2010 at 6:21 pm

      After making this, I’m torn about what apple dessert to serve for Thanksgiving. Apple pie is, of course, classic. Then there’s this recipe. And Dorie’s apple cake from AMFT. Or the Dutch crumb apple pie mix from Fowler’s. So many choices!

  6. November 7, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    Lovely, lovely tart! I’d even serve that at the end of a dining room supper. Or for breakfast! It’s always nice to have a good mix in your back pocket, isn’t it?

    • gaaarp said,

      November 7, 2010 at 11:51 pm

      Yes, and the nice thing is it makes about 4 or 5 tarts.


Leave a Reply

