Bakery Crumb Buns {ModBak}

The seventh recipe in the Yeast-Risen Specialties section of the Modern Baker Challenge is Bakery Crumb Buns. This recipe begins with a sweet yeast dough (the same dough used for the next recipe, Pecan Stickiest Buns), which is shaped into buns, then smothered with sweet, buttery crumbs.

I made these buns on my daughter’s birthday. They weren’t for that evening, however. We were having a lot of delicious treats for her party, but the crumb buns were for me to take to work the next day. In all the hustle and bustle of getting ready for her party and the arrival of guests, I left the buns in the oven a few minutes too long. And I’m sure I took some pictures during the process; but they aren’t on the camera. So I either didn’t take any, or I managed to erase them.

The crumb buns were really tasty. There was more crumb than bun, so they were sweet, crumbly, and delicious. Mine were a bit dry since I overbaked them. But that didn’t seem to matter to my coworkers. Even with all the other breakfast sweets we had at our carry-in that day, the crumb buns were a big hit and many people came back for seconds.

When I tasted the crumb buns, I liked them but wasn’t sure I would make them again. They were good, but I have a lot of really great breakfast bread recipes. But my colleagues are already asking when I’m going to bring them in again, so I may be repeating this recipe after all.

5 Comments

  1. Kayte said,

    November 18, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    Looking forward to these as well, and that I get to use the almond paste we made again. It’s always a good thing when the goods turn out, not how we hoped and expected exactly, but great in the eyes of those who are eating them! Sounds like a great recipe when that happens.

    • gaaarp said,

      November 18, 2010 at 7:43 pm

      You know how it is when you take food to the office. They will eat anything. But when they ask you to bring it in again, you know it was a hit.

  2. November 17, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    […] recipe starts with the sweet dough used in the previous recipe, Bakery Crumb Buns. After mixing the dough and letting it ferment for a few hours, I patted it out, then rolled it […]

  3. Renee said,

    November 16, 2010 at 12:29 am

    More crumb than bun….. I might have to give them a try.

    • gaaarp said,

      November 16, 2010 at 7:24 pm

      That’s what Nick likes about this recipe!


Leave a Reply

