Roast Chicken for Les Paresseux (FFwD)

This week’s entry for French Fridays with Dorie is a new favorite around my house. Who doesn’t love a delicious roast chicken? And this one comes with a few special treats for the chef.

The recipe says to start with a thick slice of bread. Because I was so looking forward to this, I used really big slice of bread.

After rubbing the inside of the pot with oil, I put the slice of bread in the bottom of the pan.

I rubbed the chicken inside and out with oil, seasoned it with salt and pepper, then stuffed the chicken with fresh herbs, garlic, half an onion, and the chicken liver.

Now, I know what you’re thinking: chicken liver? Why would you put that in there? Well, reader, because it’s one of the chef’s treats. You may think you don’t like chicken liver, but until you’ve tried it roasted this way, you really don’t know.

I placed the chicken in the pan on top of the bread (the other treat for the cook), then placed additional herbs, garlic, and onion around the chicken in the pot.

I roasted the chicken in a 450°F oven for 90 minutes, until the skin was browned and crisp.

The chicken was sizzling and smelled amazing when it came out of the oven. I let it rest in the pan for about 10 minutes, then removed it from the pot to a cutting board. I discarded the herbs, onion, and garlic, then went for the bread.

I think I added a bit too much oil to the pan, as the bread was very greasy on the top, while the bottom was crisp and stuck to the bottom of the pan. I scraped the bread from the pan with a spatula, then tentatively tried a bite. Oh, me. Oh, my. How do I describe this bread? It was toasty, crisp, spongy, greasy. And tasted like a little bit of heaven. I ate several more bites of the bread, then I remembered the liver.

Now, I’m not squeamish when it comes to eating animal parts. I get a taste for beef liver about once a year, and giblet gravy is a regular feature on our Thanksgiving table. Oh, and did I mention that I love pâté? So, eating the chicken liver was not a stretch for me, although I would never have thought of roasting it in the bird and then smearing it on bread. I spread a healthy layer on a chunk of the roasted bread and took a bite. It was so good, I thought I might cry. I quickly ate the rest of the bread and liver before anyone caught me and asked for a bite.

After my selfish bread and liver indulgence, I sliced the chicken and served it for dinner with fresh bread and green beans. We all agreed that it was among the best roast chicken we had ever had.

This recipe is one that I will make again, especially as long as I can keep the bread and liver to myself.

24 Comments

  1. Allison said,

    November 28, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    Your chicken looks gorgeous. This is definitely a recipe for the arsenal.

    • gaaarp said,

      November 28, 2010 at 7:49 pm

      Thanks, we really liked it.

  2. Lana said,

    November 27, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    He, he, Phyl, I outdid you: I put six pieces of baguette underneath my chicken and they came out unbelievably crispy, rich, salty… I did not bother with smearing the liver, I just ate pieces of it along with the bread, that I shared with the family (but the liver was all mine! I live in the household full of offal-loving creatures)
    I was thinking of saving the liver to stuff into the turkey, but we also love the giblet gravy and without the liver it would not have been the same.
    This chicken (and the liver-bread thing) are here to stay, I think:)

    • gaaarp said,

      November 27, 2010 at 10:39 pm

      I agree. Even if I follow a different recipe (hard to imagine, but it could happen), I will still include bread and liver.

  3. Kayte said,

    November 27, 2010 at 7:12 am

    It all looks wonderful and delicious. (Okay, I am lying about the liver sounding delicious because I NEVER get hungry for liver, the smell of it turns my stomach.) I thought the chicken was very moist and nice cooked this way, and it was certainly easy!

    • gaaarp said,

      November 27, 2010 at 1:36 pm

      If you don’t like liver, you could always try the heart. This was definitely a great recipe.

  4. November 26, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    Looks so yummy! I ate the bread myself too! (Didn’t do the liver…maybe next time).

    • gaaarp said,

      November 26, 2010 at 11:17 pm

      There’s always next time!

  5. Hornedfroggy said,

    November 26, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    YUM! Your chicken looks fabulous – perfect color! So glad you enjoyed this one! 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      November 26, 2010 at 1:54 pm

      Thanks! It was really good!!

  6. Cher said,

    November 26, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    I couldn’t go there with the chicken liver, but your chicken looks amazing. And the flavor of the bread – C’est très magnifique!

    • gaaarp said,

      November 26, 2010 at 1:09 pm

      D’accord.

  7. Anne Marie said,

    November 26, 2010 at 10:41 am

    By all means hide that bread. Don’t share, they won’t know of its existence.

    • gaaarp said,

      November 26, 2010 at 10:59 am

      I was tempted to tuck a piece of bread under the turkey on Thanksgiving, but I resisted.

  8. Flourchild said,

    November 26, 2010 at 9:46 am

    Im glad you enjoyed the bread and the chicken! Your chicken looks so brown and crispy!!
    I made the S. cake.

    • gaaarp said,

      November 26, 2010 at 10:58 am

      Thanks. It was really good. I can’t wait to make it again.

  9. Renee said,

    November 26, 2010 at 1:15 am

    I totally agree! This was a huge hit in our house too. I loved the bread, but was not brave enough for the liver. Kudos! It’s great to have a chicken recipe that’s so easy and so delicious!

    • gaaarp said,

      November 26, 2010 at 10:57 am

      The next time I make this, I’m going to add the vegetables. I was too lazy this time, but a lot of other people added them and they look so good!

  10. Cakelaw said,

    November 26, 2010 at 12:32 am

    Your bird looks magnificent! And you are so right about the bread – at first glance, it seems disgusting, but one bite and you are sold. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving.

    • gaaarp said,

      November 26, 2010 at 12:34 am

      Thanks! It was sinfully good.

      Thanksgiving was nice. I hope yours was pleasant, too.

  11. Krissy said,

    November 25, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    Nice looking chicken. Happy Thanksgiving!

    • gaaarp said,

      November 25, 2010 at 11:57 pm

      Thanks, Krissy. Happy Thanksgiving to you, too, with three minutes to spare!

  12. Margaret said,

    November 25, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    Let me be the first to say how great that looks. I loved this when I made it. Definitely a repeat – often. Still don’t like chick liver, sorry!! But loved the bread!!

    • gaaarp said,

      November 25, 2010 at 11:23 pm

      Thanks, Margaret. Unfortunately, I didn’t get any pictures of it plated, but it was so good! The bread and liver didn’t last long enough for pictures around here.

      I snuck the liver back in the turkey cavity today, too, and it was just as good as the chicken liver. Too bad you’re not a fan. You could always send yours here.


Leave a Reply

