Dough for Thick-Crusted Pizza & for Focaccia {ModBak}

The next recipe in The Modern Baker isn’t actually one of the assigned recipes in the Yeast-Risen Specialties section of the Modern Baker Challenge. The Pizza/Focaccia Dough on page 114 is used as the base for the next four recipes in the book:  Sfincione; Focaccia alla Barese; Nonna’s Pizza; and Filled Ham & Cheese Focaccia. For this reason, no one was assigned to post about this recipe, as each of the official bloggers for the four other recipes would be making it and could write about it.

That said, having made this dough several times, I decided to write a post about it. It is by far the easiest focaccia dough I’ve ever made, and the results are consistently terrific.

The dough is simplicity itself, consisting of flour, salt, yeast, water, and olive oil. The flour and salt are mixed in a bowl, and the remaining ingredients are stirred together in another bowl. I made a well in the center of the flour mixture, poured the liquid into the well, then began stirring with a rubber spatula. I stirred from the center, incorporating a bit more flour as I went, until all the flour was moistened and the dough was soft and shaggy.

I covered the dough with plastic wrap and let it ferment for two hours, until it had doubled. Then I pressed the dough into an oiled pan, covered it again, and let it rest for another hour while I prepared the topping ingredients.

And that’s all there is to it. No long mixing. No kneading. Just a couple ingredients, a few quick folds with a rubber spatula, and some time. That’s all it takes to create one of the simplest, most consistent, and delicious focaccia or pizza doughs you’ve ever tasted.

14 Comments

  1. December 18, 2010 at 8:47 am

    […] with the other focaccia and pizza recipes, this one starts with Dough for Thick-Crusted Pizza and Focaccia. However, rather than pressing the dough into the pan after it ferments, you dump the dough out […]

  2. December 15, 2010 at 7:21 am

    […] Here’s another recipe from The Modern Baker that starts with Nick Malgieri’s recipe for Focaccia and Thick-Crusted Pizza Dough. This is a simple and delicious pizza that will please just about […]

  3. December 11, 2010 at 10:33 am

    […] that I’ve found an easy, tasty, and reliable focaccia dough, I have enjoyed trying new focaccia and pizza recipes, like this recipe from The Modern Baker. Like […]

  4. December 7, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    […] discovered the simple and delicious Pizza and Focaccia Dough recipe in The Modern Baker, I was ready to make some focaccia.  I decided to start with the first […]

  5. Kayte said,

    December 1, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    This is a really good dough…and really easy. I have enjoyed everything I have made with it and the guys really like it for pizza crust. Really. Like. It. It’s good you posted this so people can see that it makes 4 recipes in the book and that it is very easy and very good. Sometimes we all think the two do not go hand in hand, but they sure do with this recipe.

    • gaaarp said,

      December 1, 2010 at 7:30 pm

      After my semi-disappointment with the one-step croissants, it was great to find an easy recipe that really delivers on flavor and texture.

  6. Anne Marie said,

    November 30, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    I am finding it hard to believe that you find it consistently terrific, it looks too easy.

    • gaaarp said,

      November 30, 2010 at 8:43 pm

      You’ll have to try it to believe it!

  7. Renee said,

    November 29, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    Can’t wait to try it out! I plan to make one of the pizzas this week.

    • gaaarp said,

      November 29, 2010 at 11:06 pm

      Nonna’s Pizza is the only recipe I have left in this section. I’m resisting making it at least until I’ve blogged the others and make my FFwD recipe for the week.

  8. ap269 said,

    November 29, 2010 at 3:33 am

    Looking forward to seeing pictures of the finished products! This dough sounds so easy – maybe I should make it this weekend!!!

    • gaaarp said,

      November 29, 2010 at 6:55 pm

      I’m thinking of trying a simple focaccia with just olive oil and a few herbs with this dough.

  9. Abby said,

    November 28, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    Do you have a picture of the finished focaccia? I’m curious . . . it sounds so easy!

    • gaaarp said,

      November 28, 2010 at 10:34 pm

      I will have some up soon, Abby. I baked two different recipes with the dough pictured above, which I will blog about soon. I also made the ham and cheese focaccia, but didn’t get any pictures of it. All three blog posts will be up within the next week or so.


Leave a Reply

