Speculoos {FFwD}

This week for French Fridays with Dorie I chose Speculoos — sweet, spicy, crispy cookies that beg to be dipped in coffee and are perfect for Christmas.

The dough is sweetened with granulated and brown sugars. The spiciness comes from ginger, cloves, and a healthy dose of cinnamon. After mixing the dough, I divided it in half and patted one piece into a rough circle, which I then rolled between two pieces of waxed paper.

I rolled out the other half of the dough and then put both sheets of dough into the refrigerator. The recipe says to chill the dough for at least three hours. I made the dough on Sunday and baked it on Tuesday. It held up well (the recipe says it will keep in the refrigerator for three days), although it did dry out a bit. I reread the recipe and noted that, while the recipe itself only mentions wrapping the dough in plastic wrap to freeze it, the sidebar says to wrap it if you’re going to keep it in the fridge for a few days, too. I also found that the waxed paper on top of and between the sheets of dough stuck to them a bit, and the dough had to be handled very gently as it had a tendency to crack.

Dorie uses a 1 1/4-inch round scalloped cutter to cut her Speculoos. The smallest cutter I had was 1 1/2 inches, which was still very small.

I cut out a pan of cookies and let my daughter cut out a few gingerbread people with the rest of the dough.

There is gingerbread dough in the fridge, and we will most likely bake and decorate Christmas cookies this weekend, so I didn’t bother gathering and rerolling the dough. One pan of Speculoos seemed like enough.

I baked the cookies in a 350°F oven for about 11 minutes, just a bit longer than the recipe says to bake them. They smelled really good baking, almost like a cinnamon-scented candle. I let the Speculoos cool for a few minutes before sampling them. They were delicious. The cinnamon flavor was prominent but not overpowering. You could easily change the taste of these cookies by altering the kind or amount of spices. Had I added more ginger and less cinnamon, they would have tasted like crisp gingerbread cookies.

These cookies are perfect for dunking in coffee or tea. And cut into small circles, they would be perfect for a holiday party.

I enjoyed making and eating these cookies, and only wish that I had rerolled the scraps of dough to make more of them.

21 Comments

  1. September 18, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    […] speculoos, crème fraiche, butter, salt, and pepper. That’s the entire ingredients list for this […]

  2. September 11, 2011 at 11:05 am

    […] from which to choose: Sweet and Spicy Cocktail Nuts; My Go-to Beef Daube; Leek and Potato Soup; Speculoos; and (the one I lobbied for) Spiced Butter-Glazed Carrots. Each week, we are free to pick the […]

  3. Cher said,

    December 12, 2010 at 11:03 pm

    Speculoo-men. Perfect! I chilled my dough either overnight or all day while I was at work (how bad is it that I can’t remember what I did a week ago), but I remember that the long chilling time made them pretty simple to work with (that and rolling them out between the wax paper before I refrigerated)

    • gaaarp said,

      December 12, 2010 at 11:47 pm

      I agree. The only trouble I had with mine was that I only used three sheets of waxed paper, so the top sheet of one was the bottom of the other, which made them very difficult to separate. But they cut beautifully.

  4. Cakelaw said,

    December 12, 2010 at 4:45 am

    The small size of your speculoos are perfect for dunking, as you say. A great idea.

  5. December 11, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    I just visited another post on Specaloos and have to say, using the scalloped cookie cutter is a plus…really makes a huge difference in presentation!

    Undecided about making them; seems that dough has issues!

  6. Kayte said,

    December 11, 2010 at 7:46 am

    Very cute, and very small…I have guys here and those little tiny ones are just an invitation to put like six in your mouth at once, so I think mine are going to be a little larger…maybe the size to put three in your mouth at once. Ah, teens…everything has to be done quickly, especially eating, just to get on to the next thing…were we like as teens? I can’t remember, it was so long ago. Your cookie’s look great…A’s gingerbread people are very cute as well. Tell her I said, “Nice Job” and does she want to come here and make cookies with me…I would offer to trade my M&A for your M&A for a day, but somehow I think I would be getting the better deal in the cookie making world…my guys, however, LOVE to clean out cars & run them through the carwash, etc. — that could be useful, right? They also LOVE to run the snowblower and that is very useful.

  7. jayne said,

    December 11, 2010 at 7:10 am

    I loved these too – very, very addictive! I like your little scalloped cutter! I cut mine out with a small snowflake cutter, which worked well, too. Might have to make some more.

  8. Renee said,

    December 10, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    Very nice! I’m planning to make these with the rest of my cookie plate this year. I’ll be sure to read about the chilling so I plan for that! They look yummy! I just love how cinnamon cookies make the house smell so festive!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 10, 2010 at 11:41 pm

      There are definitely cookie plate worthy. If we have a cookie exchange at work this year, this is what I will be taking.

  9. Alllison said,

    December 10, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    mmmm cinemon scented candle! I can’t wait to make these.

  10. December 10, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    Love your scalloped cutter! I’ll be making these today – can’t wait for my house to smell amazingly Christmasy!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 10, 2010 at 4:52 pm

      I’m going to make them again before Christmas. I think I’ll use the snowflake cutters I just got from KAF!

  11. Summer said,

    December 10, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    I love all ur shapes , am baking these tomorow and have the dough in my refrigeration and these already taste so good!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 10, 2010 at 4:54 pm

      Thanks. I hope yours come out great, too!

  12. December 10, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    Love these! They’re very similar to my favorite cookie, so I’m excited to make them! Your gingerbread men are too cute! 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      December 10, 2010 at 4:54 pm

      Thanks. Unfortunately (for the gingerbread men), these cookies were so good that the gingerbreads didn’t last long enough to get frosted.

  13. Margaret said,

    December 9, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    These were good weren’t they. Mine will be up 2mrw. Cute people cookies.

    • gaaarp said,

      December 9, 2010 at 10:18 pm

      Thanks, Margaret. The people were A’s doing. I just got my KAF order, so we have cool new snowflake cutters for Christmas cooking baking this weekend!

  14. Di said,

    December 9, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    Those look great! I need to get some scalloped cutters. =)

    • gaaarp said,

      December 9, 2010 at 10:15 pm

      I have a nested set of round cutters. One side is straight-edged, the other scalloped. I really like them.


Leave a Reply

