Nonna’s Pizza {ModBak}

Here’s another recipe from The Modern Baker that starts with Nick Malgieri’s recipe for Focaccia and Thick-Crusted Pizza Dough. This is a simple and delicious pizza that will please just about everyone.

While the crust was on its final rise, I prepared the toppings. The recipe calls for fresh or canned whole tomatoes. All I had on hand was Red Pack chopped tomatoes, so I drained them well and used them. I dimpled the top of the dough with my fingers and spread on the tomatoes. Then I added mozzarella and Pecorino Romano cheeses, sliced garlic, and fresh oregano. Finally, I drizzled a little olive oil on the top.

I baked the pizza at 425°F for about 30 minutes, until the cheese was melted and the topping had begun to brown.

This pizza was delicious — very flavorful, not too spicy. It’s not as cheesy as American pizza, which allows the other flavors to come through.

This is another versatile recipe. Once you learn how to make the dough for the crust, the topping possibilities are endless. And once you taste it, you’ll want to try them all.

4 Comments

  1. Renee said,

    December 15, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    How did I miss this one?? I knew I couldn’t do all the recipes this quarter but why on earth would I have skipped this one? I love pizza and especially simple pizzas like this one! Yum!!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 16, 2010 at 12:09 am

      You should make this one before the month is out (or after). It’s simple and really delicious. He gives elaborate instructions for using fresh or canned whole tomatoes. Your supposed to seed and drain them and I don’t know what all else. I took a can of Red Pack chopped tomatoes and drained them, and it worked great.

  2. Kayte said,

    December 15, 2010 at 8:21 am

    We loved it, too. I have been using this dough for the last few times for pizza around here and am really loving it. Your pizza looks delicious. So now you are finished with this section, correct? Congratulations!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 15, 2010 at 8:28 pm

      Yes, I’m done. My ham and cheese post will go up this weekend. I’d like to get started on the next section, but all of the recipes require a trip to the grocery store.


Leave a Reply

