My Go-to Beef Daube {FFwD}

As Dorie Greenspan notes in Around My French Table, every chef needs a great beef stew recipe in his or her apron pocket. So this week’s entry for French Fridays with Dorie is her — and now my — go-to beef daube.

The recipe begins with beef chuck, which I cut into chunks somewhat larger than I would normally use for stew. With the beef cubed and the rest of my mise en place set up, I was ready to cook.

If you are familiar with Dorie’s recipe, you may notice a few omissions from my mise en place. First, there’s no bacon. I don’t eat pork, and I don’t like turkey bacon (“facon”), so I left the bacon out. Also missing from my mise are carrots. I decided to make Dorie’s spiced butter-glazed carrots to eat with the daube, so I omitted the carrots from the stew.

I began by browning the beef in an enameled cast iron Dutch oven. I was careful not to crowd the pot, as I wanted the meat to brown, not steam.

After browning the beef, I sautéed onions and shallots in oil for a few minutes, tossed in garlic and parsnips, then added brandy to deglaze the pan. I returned the beef to the pan, added a fresh herb bouquet garni, and poured in an entire bottle of Shiraz.

After bringing the wine to a boil, I covered the pot with foil, put the lid on, and put the whole thing in the oven. I braised the daube for an hour, then took it out to give it a stir.

I recovered the pot, then returned it to the oven for another 1 1/2 hours. At this point, the meat was fork-tender, and the whole dish tasted delicious. It was hearty, and the wine gave it a deep, rich flavor.

Having grown up in the Midwest, where beef is king, I can safely say this is the best beef stew I have ever tasted. Rich and flavorful, without being too heavy, this could replace the Sunday pot roast on any table, especially served with Dorie’s glazed carrots.

I know it will be making regular appearances on mine.

28 Comments

  1. October 11, 2013 at 12:10 am

    […] this week’s recipe early. Really early. Like almost three years early. Having tried and loved Dorie’s Go-to Beef Daube, I couldn’t wait to try this version of pot roast. So I first made it and blogged about it […]

  2. September 11, 2011 at 11:07 am

    […] be free form. We have a list of five recipes from which to choose: Sweet and Spicy Cocktail Nuts; My Go-to Beef Daube; Leek and Potato Soup; Speculoos; and (the one I lobbied for) Spiced Butter-Glazed Carrots. Each […]

  3. January 24, 2011 at 6:13 am

    […] recipe is from Dorie Greenspan‘s Around My French Table. It’s very similar to the Go-to Beef Daube recipe that I made for French Fridays with Dorie in December. The main difference is that the beef […]

  4. December 31, 2010 at 7:13 am

    […] served the carrots with beef daube. Both were a bit […]

  5. Margaret said,

    December 29, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    Didn’t do this one. Not big on wine, especially this much in one dish. Maybe one day.

    Looks delicious and very comforting.

    • gaaarp said,

      December 29, 2010 at 11:24 pm

      I made this one and boeuf a la mode, which also calls for a whole bottle of wine. It was delicious, too.

  6. Lana said,

    December 26, 2010 at 1:21 am

    I admire you for posting this early. I am always late, it seems:( It was a great stew, as everybody at the table, child and adult, agreed. I used my home-rendered lard instead of frying bacon and a bottle of California Shiraz. I covet your Dutch oven very much (brings Hanibal Lecter’s words into perspective:)

  7. LaJuana said,

    December 25, 2010 at 9:21 am

    Always enjoy your post and your daube would be welcome on any table any day! I made mine a few weeks ago and one of my guest admitted afterwards that she didn’t care for beef stew so had not been looking forward to this…but she loved it! Delicious! Had to be the wine…and I have another bottle ready for the next daube! BTW the carrots were wonderful in the daube…I think you’ll love them too. I look forward to trying the glazed carrots this weekend. Thanks for sharing!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 25, 2010 at 1:31 pm

      Thanks for your comments!

      I was at the store yesterday to pick up, among other things, the ingredients to make Chicken for Lazy People again this weekend. I got the chicken but also grabbed a chuck roast and bottle of Shiraz to make the daube again. And, yes, I bought carrots this time!

  8. December 24, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    Great minds! I too went the ramekin route for this one. And I WAY approve of your choice of wine. It is one of my favorites.
    Trevor Sis. Boom.

    • gaaarp said,

      December 24, 2010 at 1:34 pm

      Yes, the wine was delicious, both in and out of the wine. (I might have had a little sip or two while I was making the daube!)

  9. Karen said,

    December 24, 2010 at 11:43 am

    Your beef daube looks perfect! This was a delicious recipe!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 24, 2010 at 12:45 pm

      Thanks. Such a great recipe!

  10. Good Bite In said,

    December 24, 2010 at 2:52 am

    Definite Sunday dinner contender!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 24, 2010 at 12:45 pm

      I’m thinking about making it again this Sunday for supper.

  11. Liz said,

    December 23, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    I loved this, too…and your photos are making me hungry for another batch!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 23, 2010 at 11:08 pm

      Thanks, Liz. Writing this post made me want it again, too!

  12. Renee said,

    December 23, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    I loved this recipe!!! It was a lot of prep but now having done it I think I could do it quicker. It sure paid off in taste though. Looks delicious and makes me want to make it all over again!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 23, 2010 at 6:06 pm

      There is a bit of prep involved, but it’s all done up front, and then you get to sit back and enjoy the smell of it braising!

  13. December 23, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    I like how you put your individual serving of daube in a ramekin to serve it! I did the same thing for the photos my my daube.

  14. Cher said,

    December 23, 2010 at 11:03 am

    I definitely need to try this one again. I am glad to see that I am not the only one who had some scrubbing to do to restore the white enamel on the pot! When do we get to hear about the carrots???

    • gaaarp said,

      December 23, 2010 at 11:07 am

      The carrots will be next week’s entry. That pot has become my designated roasting pot. It never quite comes clean.

  15. December 23, 2010 at 10:53 am

    This looks fabulous! I bet the carrots were a perfect side dish for this. I haven’t made those yet but yours look great. -Laura

    • gaaarp said,

      December 23, 2010 at 6:08 pm

      The carrots were really good, too. More savory than I imagined.

  16. December 23, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Looks so good! I need to make this again…it’s definitely my go-to beef daube now also! Happy Holidays.

  17. Kayte said,

    December 23, 2010 at 8:20 am

    Making it FINALLY today…things have been at sixs and sevens around here this week. Also making the BAKE! biscuits today FINALLY. I have decided that I need to pace myself better leading up to major holidays/guests/hosting dinners, etc. I think that means I am getting older…a few years ago, none of this would have phased me a bit…anyway, I am looking forward to this stew, and those carrots when I get to them. We are all about carrots over here. Now, if I could just get the choir to sing the same songs about Brussels Sprouts, it would be just fabulous. Your stew looks delicious, nice and rich!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 23, 2010 at 6:09 pm

      Thanks, Kayte. I’m anxious to hear how you like it. I’m sure you’ll have better luck with the biscuits than I did.

  18. Teresa said,

    December 23, 2010 at 3:05 am

    I’m so looking forward to making this one! Your post is only whetting my appetite more.


Leave a Reply

