Spinach Tart {Bake!}

KayteMargaret, and I have been taking turns picking recipes from Nick Malgieri‘s newest book, Bake!. It was Kayte’s turn to pick a recipe, and she chose was one that I had tasted before. Last October, I was fortunate enough to meet Nick Malgieri and take two classes from him at a local cooking school. And his spinach and bacon tart was the first recipe from his new book that we tried.

Kayte, Margaret, and I usually make the recipes “together” via a Twitterbake, but our schedules just didn’t jive this time, so we each made the tart on our own. I made it for dinner on a recent weekday evening when my parents were in town. By the time I got home from work, my sous chef (aka, Mom) had done my mise en place for me, cooking and draining the spinach and measuring out the remaining ingredients. This made the recipe, which is fairly simple anyway, come together very quickly.

After sautéing onions in oil, I added the spinach (I omitted the bacon from the recipe), then stirred in the spices. In addition to the salt, pepper, and nutmeg called for by the recipe, I included a few drops of liquid smoke to emulate the bacon flavor a bit. I added cream, cheese, and eggs, then poured the custard into the tart crust Mom had prepared.

I baked the tart at 375°F for about 35 minutes, cooled it in the pan for a few minutes, then removed it from the tart pan and put in on a serving plate.

The tart was delicious. Not too eggy, the balance of the spinach and spices was perfect. Even my kids, who sometimes turn their noses up at both spinach and quiche-like dishes, really liked it.

This was a quick, easy dish that I could throw together on a work night, even without a sous chef. But I may just wait until Mom’s back in town to make it again.

9 Comments

  1. Abby said,

    December 30, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    This looks awesome!!! (I am a sucker for quichey dishes.) You guys are convincing me more and more that I might need to pick up Bake!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 30, 2010 at 10:51 pm

      You should get it, Abby. It would be great to have to Bake! along with us!

  2. ap269 said,

    December 30, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    Looks great! The crust looks just perfect!!!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 30, 2010 at 5:33 pm

      Thanks. Mom made the crust. She’s a pro at it. I’m getting better, but not quite there yet.

  3. Kayte said,

    December 30, 2010 at 9:02 am

    It’s your turn to pick Bake! I picked the tart, Margaret picked the biscuits, that leaves it up to you…a happy chance. Your tart looks great. Nice idea with the liquid smoke trick, I would never have thought of something like that (however, I would never think of leaving bacon out of something that called for it either…lol. I picked it b/c I knew our schedules were off and if you didn’t have a chance to make it, at least you had seen this one made and tasted it before, so happy to hear you got to make it with your Mom, too. From the moment you talked about it after the class with NM, I knew I wanted to make it…we all love things like this. I was also surprised by the egg combination, it had way fewer than I expected and it was a great taste just the way he wrote that recipe. Will make again soon.

    • gaaarp said,

      December 30, 2010 at 11:21 am

      I suppose you would leave out the spinach before omitting the bacon. You Hoosiers and your pigs!

      • Kayte said,

        December 30, 2010 at 4:06 pm

        Actually, I’m a Hawkeye chick, and believe you me, words such as yours are heresy in Iowa…you’d be lynched! lol We Hoosiers also tout the snout…but in Iowa, the Heavenly Hog is revered.

  4. Margaret said,

    December 29, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    Looks great. Your own sous chef!! KEWL!!!!

    This was so good. Have to make again – soon. Like maybe this weekend.

    Maybe next time we can jive together.

    • gaaarp said,

      December 29, 2010 at 11:15 pm

      It was really good, wasn’t it? Mom’s a natural sous chef. She has all my ingredients ready (even if she doesn’t know what mise en place means), and even better, she cleans the dishes while I’m cooking.

      I’m think I’m going to shoot for Ad Hoc meatballs this weekend, and maybe another Modern Baker tart. It’s Kayte’s turn to pick a Bake! recipe, I think, so we’ll have to see what she comes up with.


Leave a Reply

