Spiced Butter-Glazed Carrots {FFwD}

The final December recipe that I made for French Fridays with Dorie was a simple, delicious side dish — spiced carrots. This recipe came together very quickly. The ingredients list is rather short — butter, onion, garlic, ginger, cardamom, carrots, chicken broth, salt, and pepper.

I began by sautéing the vegetables in butter, then added the carrots and chicken broth. After bringing the broth to the boil, I simmered the carrots for about 15 minutes, until they were tender.

I turned up the heat and boiled the broth until it had almost all evaporated. What was left was a deliciously concentrated glaze for the carrots.

I served the carrots with beef daube. Both were a bit hit.

The carrots were well-spiced but not overly so. In fact, the flavor was milder than I expected. They seemed almost underseasoned at first, but as I continued to eat them with the beef daube, I realized they were the perfect side dish. Flavorful in their own right, but not so much that they overshadowed the main dish.

Yet another success from Around My French Table. And yet another Dorie Greenspan recipe tha will be a regular feature on my table.

21 Comments

  1. September 11, 2011 at 11:14 am

    […] Cocktail Nuts; My Go-to Beef Daube; Leek and Potato Soup; Speculoos; and (the one I lobbied for) Spiced Butter-Glazed Carrots. Each week, we are free to pick the recipe from the list that we would like to make and blog for […]

  2. Lana said,

    January 4, 2011 at 12:21 am

    I missed this dish:( Have to try to make it in January. I get stuck with my veggie preparation, and it’s nice to make something different.
    They look really good as an accompaniment to the daube.

  3. Cher said,

    January 2, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    I agree – the carrots were perfect with beef.

    Happy New Year!

  4. betsy said,

    January 1, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    The carrots look beautiful next to the daube! I love the way you served it in the little dish. So cute! I love easy recipes like these carrots!

    • gaaarp said,

      January 1, 2011 at 10:05 pm

      Thanks, Betsy! I like easy recipes, too. Especially when they are this good!

  5. December 31, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    I missed all the fun this week and these carrots were the victim. Now I’m sorry. I’ll have to be sure to do them.
    Trevor Sis. Boom.

    • gaaarp said,

      January 1, 2011 at 12:39 am

      You should definitely try to squeeze them in. They are so worth it!

  6. Candy said,

    December 31, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    I loved these carrots and looking at your pictures has me craving them again!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 31, 2010 at 9:07 pm

      Good thing they’re so easy to make!

  7. December 31, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    Perfect together! I made these for last night’s dinner and they were a hit! 🙂 Happy New Year to you!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 31, 2010 at 4:26 pm

      Thanks, Jessica. Happy new year!

  8. Lori Pierce said,

    December 31, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    Love your post!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 31, 2010 at 4:03 pm

      Thanks, Lori!

  9. Candy said,

    December 31, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    I made these this week and loved them. Yours look wonderful – and I know they tasted great! I’m with you, at first, I thought… what else, then I kept eating them, and eating them, and… well, you get the idea.

    Happy New Year!!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 31, 2010 at 2:53 pm

      Thanks. I really did enjoy them. I’m looking forward to trying them again with different spices.

  10. December 31, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    Your carrots look quite festive next to the beef daube! I agree that the spice was just a little mellow…I think I just needed a tad more salt at the end. Happy New Year!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 31, 2010 at 2:52 pm

      Thanks, Steph. Happy New Year to you, too!

      I picked up a roast on sale at the grocery today. I might make carrots again to go with it. I think I’ll play with the spices a bit this time.

  11. Flourchild said,

    December 31, 2010 at 11:06 am

    I love carrots…all the food looks so yummy!!!
    Happy New Year!!!

    • gaaarp said,

      December 31, 2010 at 11:22 am

      Thanks! Happy new year to you, too!!

  12. Kayte said,

    December 31, 2010 at 8:20 am

    We love carrots around here, those look really good…such a pretty photo. I like how you served them on the side with the daube.

    • gaaarp said,

      December 31, 2010 at 11:22 am

      A and I are the big cooked carrot fans here. M will eat them; J doesn’t usually like them cooked. Although even she said these were good.


Leave a Reply

