Ham & Egg Tart {ModBak}

The first recipe I made from the Savory Tarts & Pies section in The Modern Baker was the Ham & Egg Tart on page 136. This recipe couldn’t be any easier. The ingredients list consists of ham (turkey ham, in my case), milk, cream, eggs, salt, pepper, and nutmeg. I also followed one of the suggested variations of the recipe and added Gouda.

As with all recipes in this section, this one began with the formation of a tart crust. I made the Rich Pie Dough on page 128. After mixing the dough, I patted it out into a circle.

I rolled the dough into a circle about three inches larger than the pan, then transferred it to the tart pan and pressed it into place.

As you can see from the picture above, my dough rolling skills aren’t quite up to pastry chef level yet. But I’m hopeful that as I bake my way through the next few sections, I’ll develop mad dough skills. Stay tuned and see.

Once the dough was ready, I scattered the ham into the pan, then topped it with cheese.

Then I mixed up the custard and poured it over the ham and cheese.

I baked the tart in a 375°F oven for 30 minutes, until the custard was set and puffed. I cooled the tart in the pan for a few minutes, then removed it to a serving platter.

I served the tart for a light lunch. It was savory and delicious, and reminded me of the ham and cheese breakfast bake my mom used to make when we were growing up.

As often happens around the holidays, I’ve found myself a little bit sweeted out lately. So I’ve been looking forward to this new section, where all the recipes are savory. And if this tart is any indication, I’m going to enjoy the next few months immensely.

6 Comments

  1. January 19, 2011 at 1:41 am

    […] Modern Baker Challenge.I know my friend Kayte fixed it for supper Monday night and they loved it. Phyl and his family also found it tasty. Try it!! You probably will, too. (It’s on page 136 by the […]

  2. Renee said,

    January 8, 2011 at 11:02 pm

    Yum!! Looking forward to this section even more now!

    • gaaarp said,

      January 8, 2011 at 11:50 pm

      I’m enjoying these tarts quite a bit so far.

  3. January 6, 2011 at 10:04 am

    Aint sweeten’d out myself 🙂 but am sure craving these tart now:-)
    Am totally looking forward to all the sav tarts and after this delicious one , more so!
    U have done beautiful with these delicious combis:-)
    Isnt it so wonderful that it reminded u of ur moms breakfasts?
    And also wishing ya a wonderful Sunshine new year!

  4. Kayte said,

    January 4, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    I hear you on the sweeted-out thing…this section of MB is looking really even more wonderful. Your tart making skills put mine to shame. This looks wonderful.

    • gaaarp said,

      January 4, 2011 at 9:53 pm

      I don’t quite have the tart dough rolling down pat, but I’m hoping to by the time we get through these next two sections of the book.


Leave a Reply

