Vanilla Bean Pound Cake {Bake!}

After the fun of our recent Twitterbake and my success with the New Orleans Praline Pound Cake from Nick Malgieri‘s new book, Bake!, I decided to try another one of Nick’s pound cake recipes. There are six pound cake variations in addition to the basic recipe in the book. And I was so excited to try another one that I mixed this one up while the praline pound cake was in the oven.

This version starts with the basic pound cake recipe — flour, sugar, butter, eggs, baking powder, salt, vanilla, and lemon zest. The only change called for in the recipe is replacing the vanilla with the seeds of a vanilla bean. I made one other change: I replaced the lemon zest with a few drops of orange oil. This batter was light and fluffy, although it didn’t beat up quite as high as the New Orleans Praline Pound Cake. I spread the batter in the pan and smoothed the top.

I baked the pound cake in a 325°F oven for about an hour. Unlike the praline pound cake, which took almost 75 minutes to bake, this one baked in 60 minutes, as indicated by the recipe. I let the pound cake cool before slicing it.

New Orleans Praline Pound Cake (left); Vanilla Bean Pound Cake (right)

As you can see from the photo above, the vanilla bean pound cake didn’t bake up as high as the praline version. Nonetheless, is was light, airy, and absolutely delicious. The vanilla flavor could have been stronger, but that may have been owing to my vanilla bean, which was a bit on the dry side. I really liked the addition of the orange flavoring to the batter, and will probably make that a regular alteration to the recipe.

I mentioned my love of pound cake in the previous post and pointed out that Nick’s praline pound cake recipe stood up to any other recipe I had tried. The vanilla bean pound cake was every bit as good as the praline version.

And now I can’t wait to try the rest of them.

7 Comments

  1. June 4, 2012 at 7:32 am

    […] cake recipes — New Orleans Praline Pound Cake (pralines being another love of mine) and Vanilla Bean Pound Cake. Both of these recipe were from Nick’s more recent book, Bake!, and both were easy […]

  2. teaandscones said,

    January 11, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    Kayte is not the only one behind. Pound cake is one of my favorites so this is next on my list. Like the comparison pictures. Funny how a little changes affect the cake so much.

    This would be excellent with vanilla bean ice cream. or chocolate. or almond. or chocolate almond. or……

    • gaaarp said,

      January 11, 2011 at 9:55 pm

      Vanilla bean or chocolate almond would be my choices!

  3. Abby said,

    January 11, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    It’s gorgeous! We loved the praline pound cake, too – perfect with a cup of tea!

    • gaaarp said,

      January 11, 2011 at 5:11 pm

      They were both really good. This one was such an amazing classic pound cake!.

  4. Kayte said,

    January 11, 2011 at 7:45 am

    That certainly has a lovely color to it, both inside and out. It was fun to see the two cakes side by side and note the differences in size. I guess that means I am one behind in this book now, so I better get the regular pound cake made and posted. Today for instance if we get a lot of snow could be just the day. I love pound cake with fresh berries…wonder if I can find any of those this time of year worthy of such a glowing review of this cake!

    • gaaarp said,

      January 11, 2011 at 5:12 pm

      This one was a bonus, so you’re not really behind. I’ll probably make another one of the pound cakes soon. It’s so good!


Leave a Reply

