Swiss Onion Tart {ModBak}

The fourth tart recipe in the Savory Tarts & Pies section of The Modern Baker is a caramelized onion tart. If the idea of onion pie or tart doesn’t appeal to you, it’s only because you’ve never tried Nick’s recipe. The onions are caramelized slowly to draw out and evaporate their water, then cooked in butter until they are soft, golden, and oh so sweet.

Once the onions are cooked, the recipe comes together really quickly. You mix flour, milk, cream, eggs, salt, pepper, and the caramelized onions in a bowl and pour it into a tart crust.

The whole thing is baked in a 350°F oven for about 30 minutes (less in the case of mini tarts like I made), until the crust is baked through and the filling has set.

You can serve the tart warm or allow it to cool to room temperature. It was delicious both ways. For a light supper, I would serve it warm with a mixed greens salad. But it would also work really well cooled as an appetizer or brunch dish, as it could be made ahead of time and allowed to sit at room temperature until serving time.

Either way, this was a wonderful tart — sweet, savory, not too heavy — that would be great for Saturday brunch or Sunday supper.

Check out the Modern Baker Challenge blog to see Kayte’s bacon-lovers version of this tart and to view blogs on all the recipes in the book that we’ve made so far.

10 Comments

  1. January 26, 2011 at 6:59 am

    […] baked the tomato & Gruyère tart on the same day that I made the Swiss onion tart. I made each of them as mini tarts, so I decided to serve them […]

  2. Kayte said,

    January 23, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    I loved this…but then I am very fond of onions. Guys were so-so on it b/c they are not quite that fond of onions, i.e. I never have to share my FOS with them. Yours looks great, even without the bacon this would be great. AND, just so you know, I used the amount specified in the recipe as I made that recipe exactly as he wrote it b/c it was my official post and I always try to do that with the official posts so that people can actually see what it would look like. I used a 9inch pan rather than an 11inch pan so that could be the discrepancy on why it looks like more. Thanks for letting me make this one, it’s something I will make again in mini form for me alone!!

    • gaaarp said,

      January 23, 2011 at 3:10 pm

      Ahem, if you used the wrong size pan, it wasn’t exactly as written, now, was it? lol I’m sure the Hoos and Hawks were all happy with the concentrated pig flavor!

      • Kayte said,

        January 23, 2011 at 6:19 pm

        Okay, you are right, not exact on the pan, I guess that means I am not all that reliable…better mend my ways for the next official post!

      • gaaarp said,

        January 23, 2011 at 8:31 pm

        That’s OK. I’m going to stray on the fish and cabbage pies, too. No one here will eat them besides me, and I don’t have mini pie tins. So I think I’ll have to make them as mini tarts. Not sure how that will work with the top crust.

  3. January 22, 2011 at 11:34 am

    Oh i still am behind gettn all these tarts baked:-)))
    Sooo good , without or with Bacon!

    U sure are hving wonderful tart bites at home!

    My blog has been nominated for best if Indian Food blog awards and is the only goans food blog:-))
    there is a poll , right on FB
    http://poll.fm/f/2mwyb

    And u can also vote for me here at my site

    Im 4th from Below or number 14 , Bright Morning Star! —http://brightmorningstarsfoodie.blogspot.com/

    Please post it in the group so that everyone gets the message and votes for their fellow member , i went there but didn figure how to send it to all:-(

    thannxx a ton lods!

  4. pamela said,

    January 22, 2011 at 10:42 am

    This looks amazing!!

    • gaaarp said,

      January 22, 2011 at 10:46 am

      Thanks, Pamela! It was so good!!

  5. Margaret said,

    January 22, 2011 at 10:41 am

    This looks really good. And Kayte added Bacon?? As soon as I start cooking/baking again I want to make this one.

    Sweet and savory sounds really tasty!

    • gaaarp said,

      January 22, 2011 at 10:45 am

      Actually, Kayte didn’t add bacon, I left it out. But from her picture, it looks like she used enough for both of us!


Leave a Reply

