Pancetta Green Beans {FFwD}

This week’s French Fridays with Dorie recipe was as delicious as it was simple. The ingredients were little more than those in the title of the recipe — pancetta, green beans, butter, salt, and pepper. And it was very easy to put together, even while finishing dinner for company.

I began by sautéing the pancetta. The recipe calls for two ounces of pancetta, but the package I bought contained four ounces. I didn’t have any use for other half of the package, and I figured more bacon is better, so I used it all. While the pancetta was cooking, I boiled a pot of water and cooked the green beans for a few minutes. I flashed the green beans in a bowl of ice water to stop the cooking and set the color.

When it was almost time to eat, I melted some butter in the sauté pan, then added the beans and pancetta, heated them through, and seasoned with fresh ground black pepper and just a little bit of salt. I served the green beans with short ribs in red wine and port (next week’s recipe). They were a big hit, and everyone said they complimented the short ribs well.

32 Comments

  1. Kayte said,

    March 9, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    I like the idea of increasing the amount of bacon, but then you knew I would say that, right? They look great…love the colors in this dish.

    • gaaarp said,

      March 9, 2011 at 7:12 pm

      Thanks, Kayte. Your guys would love it all baconified.

  2. February 27, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    […] to try this one. I made the recipe for company the same evening that I made last week’s pancetta green beans. And like the green beans, because I was in the middle of cooking for guests, I didn’t get […]

  3. February 22, 2011 at 8:51 am

    I also served mine with the short ribs. Great combo isn’t it? Thanks for the info about the pic. Its hard to get the photo when you have company:)

    • gaaarp said,

      February 22, 2011 at 5:20 pm

      I think I’ll probably always serve those two recipes together. It’s just such a natural combination.

  4. Lana said,

    February 20, 2011 at 3:13 am

    Beautiful plate as a backdrop to your glistening beans! Nice effect:) I loved this dish for its simplicity and boldness of flavors. Yes, it would go really well with braised short ribs, with all that wine and port – plus you did a twofer:)
    I am planning on making the ribs tomorrow, so we can eat them Monday. I know they will be awesome:)
    I missed almost whole January challenge because my work schedule changed and it took awhile to get adjusted. I am glad I am back:)

    • gaaarp said,

      February 20, 2011 at 9:26 am

      My work schedule is crazy right now, too. That’s why I’ve been trying to cook ahead and combine recipes when possible. I wish they’d post March so I can get started!

  5. sara said,

    February 18, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    Gorgeous photo!! I love the idea of pairing this with the short ribs…great idea! 🙂

  6. Betsy said,

    February 18, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    I love your sentiment of more bacon being better! Nothing wrong with simple when it tastes delicious. I can’t wait to make the short ribs on Sunday.

    • gaaarp said,

      February 18, 2011 at 10:06 pm

      That’s my family’s philosophy. I don’t make bacon very often, but my mom cooks pounds of it whenever she’s in town. The house smells like pig fat for days.

  7. Tricia said,

    February 18, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    These were a big hit in our house as well. I had them with pork chops and it was a great side dish. Although I would be happy to eat an entire bowl of these by myself….and for me to say that about green beans is saying something 🙂 Truly beautiful photos.

    • gaaarp said,

      February 18, 2011 at 10:04 pm

      I tried not to think about what the pancetta and butter were doing to the nutritional value of the beans and just enjoy the fact that everyone was wolfing them down.

  8. Krissy said,

    February 18, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    Agree…the more pancetta the better. Nice post. And…funny you lifted the photo…maybe I should try that sometime as I’m not a photographer and so many others have such GREAT photos to share. Not really…this photos make me get finished and keep me on task.

    • gaaarp said,

      February 18, 2011 at 10:02 pm

      I usually take my own pictures, but I just didn’t get one this time. I’ve had pictures from my blog show up on others’ sites from time to time, too. It’s kind of flattering.

  9. Flourchild said,

    February 18, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    Great greenbeans! I never thought I would put a post on my blog about Greenbeans!HA! It just shows how amazing Dorie is!!

    • gaaarp said,

      February 18, 2011 at 7:02 pm

      Sometime the simplest recipes are the best!

  10. Candy said,

    February 18, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    This sounds wonderful! I’m out of town, so I didn’t get a chance to cook… But I will have to make these. Yum!

    • gaaarp said,

      February 18, 2011 at 2:56 pm

      You could easily add them to about any meal. They’re so easy.

  11. Liz said,

    February 18, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    Simple but delicious…I made the ribs early, too…not so simple, but delicious!

    • gaaarp said,

      February 18, 2011 at 2:56 pm

      Yes, the ribs were a bit more work, but so worth it!

  12. Candy said,

    February 18, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    Glad you enjoyed these!

  13. February 18, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    That is a gorgeous photo! Loved these beans and can’t wait to make them again!

    • gaaarp said,

      February 18, 2011 at 2:55 pm

      They went over well. I think my family would eat them anytime.

  14. Elaine said,

    February 18, 2011 at 11:18 am

    oh, I bet they were great with the short ribs!

  15. Cher said,

    February 18, 2011 at 9:01 am

    I was thinking this would make a great side for the ribs, but I must say they were a great side with fish as well. And so simple to finish off in the midst of kitchen chaos too, I might add!

    • gaaarp said,

      February 18, 2011 at 2:54 pm

      I liked that I was able to frizzle the pancetta and cook the beans ahead of time, so that by the time I was almost ready to put dinner on the table, all I had to do was throw them in the pan with some butter to reheat.

  16. Heather said,

    February 18, 2011 at 12:43 am

    This is bizarre. I’m making braised short ribs with green beans Saturday night for a dinner party. My recipe for the beans doesn’t call for pancetta but I’m thinking I’ll have to use it now after reading your post. Bacon does make almost everything better. Can’t wait to see your post on the ribs.

    • gaaarp said,

      February 18, 2011 at 2:53 pm

      Pancetta, bacon, prosciutto — any of them would work.

  17. Cakelaw said,

    February 17, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    Love your photo of the beans, and glad they were a hit. I made mine to eat with the ribs too – now they were a knockout!

    • gaaarp said,

      February 17, 2011 at 9:44 pm

      Thanks. I actually lifted the photo from the ‘net, as I was too busy putting the finishing touches on dinner to think of snapping a pic. I didn’t credit it because I found the same picture on several sites.

      I agree, the short ribs were a winner!


Leave a Reply

