Short Ribs in Red Wine and Port {FFwD}

If this looks like a picture from a book, it's only because it is

 This week’s recipe for French Fridays with Dorie is another braised beef recipe. I had never cooked short ribs before, so I was excited to try this one. I made the recipe for company the same evening that I made last week’s pancetta green beans. And like the green beans, because I was in the middle of cooking for guests, I didn’t get any pictures.

But fear not. I found a recipe for short ribs in wine by Dorie Greenspan which, while not the exact recipe from Around My French Table, is pretty close. You can find the recipe here. I noticed a few differences when perusing this recipe. First, the recipe in AMFT calls for an entire bottle of red wine and 1 1/2 cups of port. Also, the gremolata in the book uses cilantro instead of parsley, and you have the option of using tangerine, clementine, or orange peel (I used orange).

The short ribs were absolutely delicious. They were fall-off-the-bone tender (in fact, several of the pieces did fall off the bone as I was plating them), and the wine and port gave the dish a deep, slightly sweet flavor.

We all agreed it was one of the best beef dishes we had eaten in a long time. And it definitely made me want to try cooking with short ribs again.

23 Comments

  1. Kayte said,

    March 9, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    Too funny, the first thing I thought was “wow, Phyl did great with the styling and picture on this, it looks like it be in a cookbook,” so after reading I see why that is…lol. Eager to make this one, better get to it before the weather changes as guys have a policy about not eating roasts, etc. in late spring/summer/early fall…time is closing in on me!

    • gaaarp said,

      March 9, 2011 at 7:10 pm

      I think they might break their own rule for this one. It was so good!

  2. Lana said,

    March 1, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    I completely forgot the gremolata:) But the ribs were extremely flavorful and satisfying for the whole family. I loved the nuances of ginger and anise – it would not have occurred to me to add them to the aromatics for a beef braise, but they worked.
    This was the first time I have ever cooked short ribs, and it certainly won’t be the last.
    I think that we are pretty unanimous as a group on this one:)

    • gaaarp said,

      March 1, 2011 at 8:13 pm

      My first time cooking short ribs, too. I really liked them. I couldn’t believe how tender they were.

  3. Anne-Marie said,

    February 27, 2011 at 8:49 am

    Loved your picture of the picture! I feel so proud to have my first braised meat recipe under my belt.

    • gaaarp said,

      February 27, 2011 at 9:50 am

      I’ve tried three of Dorie’s braised beef recipes, and they’ve all been delicious.

  4. Tricia said,

    February 26, 2011 at 10:20 am

    We loved these at our homes – Nana and I are now big fans. Another successful FFWD 🙂 And perfect for the long winter we are having. I particularly liked the braising concept and am scratching my head as to why I have not done more of this in the past. That’s the nice part of the FF- learning new stuff as well as eating great food.

    • gaaarp said,

      February 26, 2011 at 12:04 pm

      I agree. The only real braised meat recipe in my arsenal before this was Hungarian goulash (which I guess is more of a stew than a braised meat recipe). It’s definitely a great method to learn.

  5. Anne Marie said,

    February 26, 2011 at 5:28 am

    These were delicious on a winter day.

  6. Teresa said,

    February 26, 2011 at 1:27 am

    I love that you used a photo of the photo in the book – great save!

    I want to try this braising liquid with other cuts of meat – it’s fantastic.

    • gaaarp said,

      February 26, 2011 at 12:03 pm

      I have been checking out other braised meat recipes, too. It’s such a nice way to cook a less-tender cut of meat. Sure beats the old method of putting it in the crockpot for 10 hours until you can no longer identify it.

  7. betsy said,

    February 25, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    I knew this dish wouldn’t be pretty when the photo in the book was just the raw ingredients. I loved the sauce, well, the ribs too, of course. These hit the spot.

    • gaaarp said,

      February 25, 2011 at 10:32 pm

      The sauce was delicious, wasn’t it? You could braise about any meat with it and it would be good.

  8. Karen said,

    February 25, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    Love your veggie photo! I am glad these turned out so well for you! Gotta love the fall off the bone tenderness!

    • gaaarp said,

      February 25, 2011 at 10:30 pm

      They were so tender and moist. My mouth is watering thinking about them.

  9. Mary said,

    February 25, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    I agree that this was one of the best red meat recipes ever.

    • gaaarp said,

      February 25, 2011 at 9:37 pm

      Of course, the beef daube wasn’t too shabby, either!

  10. Kathy said,

    February 25, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    It’s more important that your guests were satisfied then getting pictures anyway!!
    I’d like to make this again also…we really loved this dish!

    • gaaarp said,

      February 25, 2011 at 9:04 pm

      There are so many repeats in this book so far. And great recipes still to come!

  11. February 25, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    I know……how do you get a pic when hungry guests want to eat? I’m having the same issue.

    • gaaarp said,

      February 25, 2011 at 9:04 pm

      Actually, they were the type of guests I wouldn’t have felt bad about making wait while I took pictures, I just didn’t think of it.

  12. Cher said,

    February 25, 2011 at 9:11 am

    These were not the most photogenic, were they? Agreed – the sauce did have a nice, sweet compexity to it.

    • gaaarp said,

      February 25, 2011 at 6:19 pm

      I want to make these again. Better yet, I want someone else to make them so I can eat them!


Leave a Reply

