Savory Cheese and Chive Bread (FFwD)

This week’s French Fridays with Dorie recipe was a quick bread which, Dorie promised, would take no more than 10 minutes to whip up. As it turns out she was right. This bread came together lightning fast, all the more so since I used shredded cheese.

OK, so this was an expensive bag of cheese. But it was worth it to have a Gruyère and Emmentaler blend for this and other recipes. And I might just make some fondue out of it, too.

As the name implies, this is a savory bread studded with cheese and fresh herbs. The recipe calls for Gruyère and snipped chives, but you could make it with nearly any combination of cheese and herbs, or even some fruit or meat, if you were so inclined. Once you have the basic recipe down, the possibilities are endless.

To make the bread, I mixed the dry ingredients in one bowl and the wet ingredients in another and folded them together. I stirred in the cheese (shredded and cubed) and chives, then scraped the batter into a pan.

I baked the loaf in a 350°F oven for 35 minutes, until a knife inserted in the center came out clean.

I cooled the loaf for about 20 minutes before slicing. It was still warm, and the cheese in the center was melty, gooey, and delicious.

Even though the chives appear fairly sparse, their flavor dominated this bread. It was savory and quite tasty, but I wish the flavor of the cheese had been a bit more prominent. I will probably use the same cheeses next time, but might opt for a more mildly flavored herb.

23 Comments

  1. March 18, 2011 at 7:48 am

    […] week’s French Fridays with Dorie recipe was another quick and delicious treat. Like the savory cheese and chive bread we made a few weeks ago, the dough for salted butter break-ups came together quickly. The […]

  2. Renee said,

    March 9, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    Nice! I just made this the other day too (blog to come) and loved it. It used a lot of cheese given that I ate it all in a day!

    • gaaarp said,

      March 9, 2011 at 7:05 pm

      This would be a great loaf to use as an appetizer with cocktails before dinner, wouldn’t it?

  3. Kayte said,

    March 9, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    Wow, Phyl, that is really one gorgeous loaf of cheesy herb bread. Absolutely beautiful. That cheese blend sounds excellent…am debating on chives or scallions, might try to get this together for tonight’s dinner as it is just bread and soup.

    • gaaarp said,

      March 9, 2011 at 7:06 pm

      Thanks. You should definitely make it. If you’re only having bread and soup, you might as well make really good bread.

  4. chefpandita said,

    March 6, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    Love how the cheese looks on that last photo. I added an extra ounce of cheese to my bread… what can I say, I’m a cheese lover 🙂

    • gaaarp said,

      March 6, 2011 at 9:35 pm

      I could see extra cheese in this bread. Or even a mix of cheeses.

  5. sara said,

    March 6, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    Lovely! I love the pre-shredded fondue cheese…sounds delicious! 🙂

  6. Betsy said,

    March 6, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    I love the idea of fondue blend cheese! I love Gruyere and Emmenthaler (and fondue). I used Dubliner, so it was more cheddary. Your loaf looks lovely!

    • gaaarp said,

      March 6, 2011 at 3:04 pm

      Thanks. I was excited to find this cheese, too. Both for the simplicity factor for this recipe, and because I love fondue!

  7. Elaine said,

    March 6, 2011 at 11:00 am

    I love the contrast of the golden, crispy edges with the inside of your loaf. How great that you found a ready made blend of shredded gruyere and emmenthaler cheese.

    • gaaarp said,

      March 6, 2011 at 12:28 pm

      Thanks. I was really happy to find the cheese. I probably won’t buy it that way all the time, but it was so convenient.

  8. luciacara said,

    March 6, 2011 at 8:19 am

    The flavor of mine overall was underwhelming…I used sharp cheddar but think my chives were waaay out of season…I couldn’t taste them at all :(. Maybe I should have tried it toasted as you did.

    • gaaarp said,

      March 6, 2011 at 12:27 pm

      I was surprised how different the taste was once I toasted it. This one is definitely on my repeat and experiment lists.

  9. March 5, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    Now I have cheese envy! I want a bag of cheese like yours. Your bread looks good!

    • gaaarp said,

      March 5, 2011 at 8:03 pm

      Well, ask your local cheesemonger to get you some!

  10. nana said,

    March 5, 2011 at 9:17 am

    Your bread looks incredible, so nice and dark in color. I like the idea of
    that cheese blend package, I will have to check it out. Tricia and I each
    used a different type of cheese, but this type of bread calls for lots of
    variation.

    • gaaarp said,

      March 5, 2011 at 9:39 am

      Thanks. It was really delicious. I had another piece toasted last night, and the chives weren’t as strong, so the cheese flavor came through better. I don’t buy shredded cheese too often, but it seemed like a nice shortcut for this recipe, and I like the brands of cheese that were in it. Besides, since I started baking from AMFT, it seems like I used Gruyere all the time!

  11. Krissy said,

    March 4, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    I’ll be looking for a bag of cheese like yours…looks exciting. Your bread is beautiful.

    • gaaarp said,

      March 5, 2011 at 9:36 am

      One of the local grocery stores has a big cheese section, and that’s where I found it. I liked it because it is the brands of Gruyere and Emmentaler that I normally buy.

  12. Cher said,

    March 4, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    That…is a very big bag of cheese! Hope you get lots of good use out of it!

    • gaaarp said,

      March 5, 2011 at 9:37 am

      It’s 12 ounces, so not too big. But I’m sure I will find plenty of uses for it.


Leave a Reply

